View Full Version : whats the best internet browser?

Crake
04-17-2005, 02:52 PM
vote on the poll below im wondering what to use!

JamieR
04-17-2005, 03:04 PM
IE shouldn't even be on the list. Although it is one of the widest-used browsers (still), it is insecure, out of date and lacking proper support for modern web standards.

I say firefox, however, Opera 8 will support SVG nativly, whereas firefox doesn't (I think)..

Opera is a good browser..secure, fast, and a good UI. However, it isn't exactly free as you have to buy a licence to shift the advertising banner.

_Aerospace_Eng_
04-17-2005, 04:18 PM
I'm going with FireFox on this one, about a month ago, I switched from IE to FF for my daily browsing. Me being a developer, I liked the add-ons for FF, like colorzilla, or the ruler to measure elements, or the web developer add on. It is more secure than IE. I still use IE only because I prefer the Microsoft Java Virtual Machine over the Sun Java plugin for FF.

JamieR
04-17-2005, 04:30 PM
I love the firefox web developer toolbar...its most helpful when I'm developing sites etc. I gotta agree with Aerospace here, I don't like Sun's Java runtime environment much....

Steve - please change the title of this thread to something a bit more descriptive:p

Jamie :)

rpgfan3233
04-17-2005, 04:36 PM
I voted for Fx because of the security and because of the Web Developer extension for it.

I love disabling JS with only 2 clicks and a refresh.

A random person: Disabling JavaScript!? What are you, crazy or something!? Half of the world uses JavaScript to make their sites work!
Me: If a person needs JavaScript to make an important part of their site work, they didn't design their page well enough.
Random person: But what about Internet Explorer!? It can't handle things the way most other browsers can!