View Full Version : Form Text Box Field Disappears - Why?

04-11-2005, 10:18 PM

I have a couple of forms on my site that the first field disappears when you
"mouseover" the Main Menu Bar along the top of the page. The URL of one of them is http://www.miningreference.com/html/register.php.

I use Netobjects Fusion 8 for Development.

It seems like it must have something to do with the javascript controlling the menu bars. Further to this:

* If you "mouseover" the left-hand menu bar, then "mouseover" the Top Main Menu Bar, the field does NOT disappear.
* If you "mouseover" the left-hand menu bar, then "mouseover" one of the
sub-menus that roll-out from that l/hand menu, then "mouseover" the Top
Main Menu Bar, the field DOES disappear.
* It doesn't matter what the name of the field is; I've even rearranged the order of the fields - it is always only the first field that disappears.

I haven't touched the standard Netobjects Fusion 8 .js files - they are just standard out-of-the-box. To see a copy of the .js file, here it is (http://www.miningreference.com/assets/rollover.js)

If someone could please help me, I would appreciate it greatly.


Calvin Close

Recent Websites:

04-12-2005, 05:32 AM
:eek: that is the wierdest thing i have ever seen, ever... unfortunately, i can't help you, except for bumping this to the top :)

04-12-2005, 06:00 AM
Hello calvinc,

Netobjects Fusion 8 has attributed each input tag with a blank ID. Hence each blank ID is presuming the ID from the previous, which has a mouseover event attached to it which invokes VISIBILITY: hidden.

Assign each input tag a non-null ID, or remove the ID attribute completely. When in the source code of register.php; locate the form and remove the id="" attribute from the each input tag.

<TD><INPUT id="" name=username></TD></TR>
will become..
<TD><INPUT name=username> </TD></TR>

Let me know how this goes.

Have a good day.

04-12-2005, 03:42 PM
Hello razor,

You are indeed correct. The form is generated by a php form generator. I have fixed it so that the form generator doesn't put an ID="" if it isn't supplied.

If you go to the page now, you will see that it doesn't do it anymore.

Thanks for your help.


04-12-2005, 03:45 PM
Damn, couldn't you have saved the old page in another file or something? TheRoper made me all curious and stuff.... ;)

04-12-2005, 04:01 PM
Alright snowieken,

Because you insist, I have put an old copy back on the site (with the associated old form generator, etc). The URL is http://www.miningreference.com//html/register2.php.

Don't blame me if the form doesn't process correctly - I'm not sure if I duplicated everything, but you can see the effect of the boxes disappearing.



04-12-2005, 04:04 PM
Heh, I was joking of course, but nevertheless thanks. That is indeed a very weird sight.

Come to think of it, I wasn't really joking... :)

04-12-2005, 04:20 PM
That is very interesting indeed. If you have not figured it out by the time i get home from work i'l give you a hand.

04-12-2005, 04:22 PM
That is very interesting indeed. If you have not figured it out by the time i get home from work i'l give you a hand.In case you haven't noticed, it is already solved. My whiny old self just wanted to see the original problem because it sounded "cool" ... :cool: