View Full Version : Forms Help

ziguana_man
04-11-2005, 12:26 PM
I'm new to html and forms (well actually just havn't done it for a few years like 7)

I have dreamweaver and I have created a form with all the form elements but there are a few elements I need help with.

1. I have added a reset and submit button but how to I add a print button?

2. How do I make the link to this form bring up the form in a separate window without the IE toolbar etc at the top? I don't want people using those buttons.

3. I have a numeric field that will be filled in with an 11 didget number, you can set a max but i want it to have a min also so they don't get it wrong, then if they submit the form or print it they get an error or a pop up that reminds them to go fix that field.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Mike

snowieken
04-11-2005, 01:11 PM
<input type="button" value="Print this form" onclick="window.print();">This will show the print dialogue to print out the page this button is in.

<a href="URL" onclick="window.open('URL', 'name', 'options'); return false">Click here for the form</a>The method window.open opens a separate window in the browser. It has three attributes: the URL, the name and the options. The URL and the name are pretty straight forward: there you set the URL of your form, and a unique name to give to the window (which you can choose freely, name it "form1" or something). The options are a bit juicier:

width (value): width of the opened window
height (value): height of the opened window
location (0/1): display the address bar
status (0/1): display the status bar
menubar (0/1): display the menu bar (File, Edit, ...)
directories (0/1): display directory buttons
toolbar (0/1): display the toolbar (Back, Forward,...)
resizable (0/1): sets whether the window is resizable
scrollbars (0/1): display scrollbars