...

View Full Version : Slipstreaming over exisiting Service Pack?



Morgoth
04-06-2005, 04:51 PM
Hello,

I am wondering if it is possible to slipstream a service pack onto a CD where a previous service pack has already been integrated?

Example:
I have Windows 2000 Server SP3 and I want to make a copy of Windows 2000 Server with Service Pack 4. Can I use this copy of Windows 2000 Server with the existing Service Pack already integrated?

I am assuming there will be problems, this is why I have not manually tested my methods.


Thank you for your help.

JamieR
04-06-2005, 05:33 PM
I would have thought it wouldn't cause any problem, because SP4 has the elements of SP3 included in it, so I think that slipstreaming SP4 onto the cd would only update the files which SP4 updates.

Morgoth
04-06-2005, 05:36 PM
Thank you for the reply weazel.

That is exatly what I think, however, I can not be too sure about it unless I have a few more opinions, or a good web site that says it's ok.

Other than this, I will need to search for my old Windows 2000 Server CD.
I found like 3 already but they all have server packs on them ;)

JamieR
04-06-2005, 07:50 PM
That is exatly what I think, however, I can not be too sure about it unless I have a few more opinions, or a good web site that says it's ok.


try it out > it might work, it might not..you got nothing to loose really as the files will be copied from cd.


Windows 2000 Server CD.

heh I neeed one of those:D

Morgoth
04-06-2005, 08:16 PM
Well, trying it out will take more work than I have in mind.
I really just need a straight answer.

Thanks for the help weazel, I will call a friend of mine who will probibly know the answer. ;)

oracleguy
04-06-2005, 08:37 PM
I have done slipstreaming but I've never tried doing what you are talking about but honestly I'd assume that it would work fine.

JamieR
04-06-2005, 08:40 PM
I think it would work fine....I haven't tried doing it, but my bets on it going ok.

tboss132
04-07-2005, 09:10 AM
You can slipstream any higher service pack over a lower one. I've done XP Sp1 to Sp2. It works fine.
If in doubt, create a copy first

JamieR
04-07-2005, 11:21 AM
thats what I thought.....

tboss132
04-07-2005, 11:36 AM
Come to think of it, a CD without service pack is actually Service pack 0. SP1 is and update to that CD, SP2 an update to SP1 and so on and I just remembered - I've done win2k sp3 to sp4 for a dell machine running sp4 which wasn't allowing me to repair the OS using an sp3 cd.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum