...

View Full Version : McAfee Scans



dreamsonthefly
04-05-2005, 03:57 AM
I keep getting these two errors on my virus scan. What are they? What do they do? And how come they keep coming up? c://windows/system32/rk.exe &
c://windows/system32/osmim.dll

Also having problems with the number of processes running when I look at the task manager. Have attached files for review.

Thanks for your help.

wabirdman
04-05-2005, 06:48 AM
I keep getting these two errors on my virus scan. What are they? What do they do? And how come they keep coming up? c://windows/system32/rk.exe &
c://windows/system32/osmim.dll

Also having problems with the number of processes running when I look at the task manager. Have attached files for review.

Thanks for your help.

osmim.dll is part of marketscore - go here (http://www3.ca.com/securityadvisor/pest/pest.aspx?id=43974) for a description and how to remove it from your pc.

rk.exe is spyware and I am pretty certain it is part of marketscore. I know a variant of it is mksc.exe and that is part of marketscore. Run spyware to clean this up. Download.com (http://www.download.com/Spyware-Center/2001-2023_4-0.html?tag=dir) have 4 free good spyway cleaners for free.

wabirdman

JamieR
04-05-2005, 09:26 AM
Lavasoft adaware, HiJackthis and Spybot Search and destory are all good.

...{chris}...
04-05-2005, 09:09 PM
As well as Spyware Doctor.

-ChRiS

JamieR
04-05-2005, 09:16 PM
never tried spyware doctor, so i cant vouch for how good that is...:D

...{chris}...
04-05-2005, 09:33 PM
Man, go get it! It runs in the background using little resources, and will automaticly search your temp files and delete the malicious cookies. I run it every day and kill off the spyware.

-ChRiS

JamieR
04-05-2005, 10:02 PM
lol i'll try it then:D - I always run AVG on my systems after I do a adware/spyware scan with the 4 different things I already use just in case some adware gets classed as trojans by AVG and missed by teh resident shield.

...{chris}...
04-05-2005, 11:36 PM
What programs do you use, I only have AVG and Spyware Doctor.

-ChRiS

JamieR
04-06-2005, 12:00 AM
What programs do you use, I only have AVG and Spyware Doctor.

-ChRiS

On the security front:

Firefox
Opera
AVG Anti virus
Hijack this
Spybot search and destroy
Lavasoft Adaware
SpywareBlaster

< all good stuff;) - and having a decent firewall is also helpful:D

Jamie.

...{chris}...
04-06-2005, 12:22 AM
Who would you advise for a decent firewall? The only one I know I have now is Windows firewall.

-ChRiS

wabirdman
04-06-2005, 01:35 AM
A good free firewall is zonealarm.

I use:

avg
spybot search and destroy
spyware doctor
firefox
zonealarm

wabirdman

JamieR
04-06-2005, 12:34 PM
A good free firewall is zonealarm.

I use:

avg
spybot search and destroy
spyware doctor
firefox
zonealarm

wabirdman

I have Mcafee personal firewall as my firewall...I have no idea how much it would be if I bought it (not a lot I guess) - I got it given to me:D


Windows firewall is rubbish:p

...{chris}...
04-06-2005, 04:36 PM
Whats up with Zonealarm constantly asking to allow services to access the net, even after I told it to allow it, and remeber it. Its always asking for AIM.exe :/ Anyone help me out? Thanks. If not its no biggy. Ill just buy it and maybe it'll not ask :)

-ChRIS

JamieR
04-06-2005, 04:44 PM
I think the free version isnt as functionable as the payed-for version. However I've had McAfee personal firewall plus for a while now and it has been reliable.

royall
04-06-2005, 09:27 PM
RK.exe:

http://www.liutilities.com/products/wintaskspro/processlibrary/rk/
http://www.tasklist.org/task_rk_exe_6870.html
http://www.superadblocker.com/M/MKSC.EXE-2003.html

osmim.dll:

http://www3.ca.com/securityadvisor/pest/pest.aspx?id=43974
www.uwm.edu/People/csbrath/marketscore.doc
http://infosecurity.panam.edu/TechTips/removingnetsetter.html

3 links on info for both. Try finding the files manually and deleting them, so they don't come back.

JamieR
04-06-2005, 09:50 PM
yeh I'd also run hijackthis...to remove any dodgy registry keys.

wabirdman
04-07-2005, 01:57 AM
You at least want to have some sort of registry knowledge before using hijack this, as it doesnt have an auto clean. You have to manually choose what registry entries to remove.

Not for the beginner (but I hope most here arent beginners)

wabirdman

JamieR
04-07-2005, 11:49 AM
You at least want to have some sort of registry knowledge before using hijack this, as it doesnt have an auto clean. You have to manually choose what registry entries to remove.

Not for the beginner (but I hope most here arent beginners)

wabirdman

Yeh well I nearly always know what the key I'm deleting is.....and make backups if I dont.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum