...

View Full Version : Get browser to lie...



tboss132
03-30-2005, 03:48 PM
Is there a way I can get firefox to lie to websites that it's internet explorer? or vice versa?

dannyhayes
03-30-2005, 04:30 PM
No I dont think so.
Please correct me if I am wrong though. :p

Antares
03-30-2005, 04:34 PM
To settle my curiousity, can i ask why you'd want to do that?

dannyhayes
03-30-2005, 04:37 PM
Hi,

Yes that is what I thought what is the point of it. :D

JamieR
03-30-2005, 04:41 PM
I'm not sure if you can - your browser provides the information as what it is....

tboss132
03-30-2005, 05:19 PM
I know that browsers identify themselves to sites they visit. But I heard that during the browser wars, IE started imitating netscape and started identifying itself as Mozilla. Was just wondering if that might start happening soon and I wanted to see what some sites that were designed only for IE (eg microsoft windows update site) would look like in firefox and vice versa. Also, out of curiousity too. Thank anyway for the replies.

Spookster
03-31-2005, 12:05 AM
There is an extension for Firefox and Mozilla to do that.
https://addons.mozilla.org/extensions/moreinfo.php?application=firefox&version=1.0&os=Linux&category=Developer%20Tools&id=59

Opera also allows you to change your identity to various different browsers.

wabirdman
03-31-2005, 07:26 AM
There is an extension for this

User Agent Switcher (https://addons.mozilla.org/extensions/moreinfo.php?application=firefox&version=1.0&os=Windows&category=Developer%20Tools&numpg=10&id=59)

wabirdman

(edit) Looks like spookster got in before me :)



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum