...

View Full Version : ...{reformatting my hard drive}...



...{chris}...
03-29-2005, 12:07 AM
First thing first... Ive never done this before. I will also be doing it without the help of anyone standing here with me. So heres my questions...

1. Will I need to re-install windows again?
2. Can I make new partitions on it?
3. About how long will it take, or does it vary on the computer?

Thanks in advance.
-ChRiS

sweenster
03-29-2005, 12:12 AM
If you format your hard drive you will loose everything on there so yes you will need to reinstall windows.

Once formatted you can re-partition to your hearts content.

To format a drive depends on its size and speed. Usually you would be talking about half an hour at most to format a big drive

JamieR
03-29-2005, 11:58 AM
I only reformat hard disks when the OS is corrupt or doesnt work properly. One strange was, I reformatted a computer belonging to a friend of mine when I reinstalled windows 2000, and the 10GB hard disk took two hours to format...but it was old tho.

tboss132
03-29-2005, 12:31 PM
Since you're asking this question, I assume you're a newbie to all of these. In that case I'll advise you NOT to format your hard disk. For starters, why do you want to format? Get a second opinion from someone who knows about it before you format. Once you format, you lose everything (and i mean EVERY thing ) that you had on your computer. That means the system won't even boot when next you switch it on and it'll be useless until you reinstall the OS, the device drivers and all your software.
By all means get an expert to come look @ your PC. California is far from me, I might have been able to help. :D

craigt56
03-29-2005, 12:43 PM
Please take the advise of all above and make sure this is really what you want to do. Formatting a harddrive usually has a few surprises in it. If you've never done it before you are asking for potentially the longest day of your life...Maybe you computer just needs cleaned up. Maybe your Operating System should be reloaded. Do yourself a BIG favor and find some help with your situation.

JamieR
03-29-2005, 01:00 PM
As tboss132 said, its better to ask someone to come to your house who knows about these things rather than going through the hassle of doing it yourself if your not familiar with these things.

<edit>removed bit above there..didnt read last post correctly:o</edit>

tboss132
03-29-2005, 01:03 PM
Alright weazel you go ahead and help him. He probably plans to format and then come back to coding forums and ask you what to do next. He probably thinks he'll use to same computer (which he's just formated) to get on the internet and coding forums

JamieR
03-29-2005, 01:06 PM
I think he would be better going to a computer repair shop or asking somene round to his house who can look at his computer and decide whether it really needs formatting, as he isnt familiar with these things.

...{chris}...
03-29-2005, 02:52 PM
Alright weazel you go ahead and help him. He probably plans to format and then come back to coding forums and ask you what to do next. He probably thinks he'll use to same computer (which he's just formated) to get on the internet and coding forums


Piss off.
And no I wouldnt go and reformat without asking, wtf do you think I came here? I had to install a new harddrive with no help, little directions, nearly killed myself and it took 3 days. Yeah Im a newbie to this, why else would I be asking... Just because you know more than me doesnt mean you can come casue ****.

On the other hand, thank you all. Ill just wait till I get my other computer to tinker with this one. Thanks once again. Is there any programs out there that would help clean up a little bit, I have Pc Doctor, and Panda Titanium Antivirus 2005, I run Pc Doctor every day to clean up spyware, and just got the anti-virus, which Ill run every few days. Any other tips?
Thanks.

-ChRiS

tboss132
03-29-2005, 03:01 PM
Piss off.
And no I wouldnt go and reformat without asking, wtf do you think I came here? I had to install a new harddrive with no help, little directions, nearly killed myself and it took 3 days. Yeah Im a newbie to this, why else would I be asking... Just because you know more than me doesnt mean you can come casue ****.


LOL. twas weazel got me going there coupled with a hard day at work and needing to get some humour. We all started out like you and we all made costly mistakes back then so I'm not making fun of you. Anyways, it'll be good to do like you said. If you have another computer on the internet, you can always wait till you get one of us on messenger to help you out and we could go through the process step by step (hoping we'll not run into any troubles).

Meanwhile some good programs for tuning up the pc are:
Tune-up utilities
System mechanic
MS Antispyware
You can google for them and you'll get the links. The first 2 offer 30 day fully functional trial while the last is still free cos it's in beta.
BTW - Why did you want to format your hard drive?

...{chris}...
03-29-2005, 03:14 PM
Sorry.

Thanks for the program list. I wanted to reformat cause:
1. For the experiance.
2. I never partitioned the hard drive when I installed it, not knowing at the time what it meant. But some have said your computer would run faster partitioned, and I never argued cause I really dont know. I have a little over 1300 mp3 files and I was thinking of putting them on their own partition if the above is true.

Anyhow, thanks. Sorry once again, I had a bad night :( Still a littlle snappy.

JamieR
03-29-2005, 03:15 PM
LOL. twas weazel got me going
lol thanks :rolleyes:

Anyhoo...

Lavasoft Adaware and Spybot Search & Destroy are essentials, as well as Diskeeper and AVG. Also a decent firewall is a must. Norton Systemworks is a good choice for home computers.

Also Mike Lin's startup control panel is a good utility, as well as some of the stuff from www.sysinternals.com :D

~Jamie.

tboss132
03-29-2005, 03:21 PM
For the 2nd reason, I'll advice getting Powerquest partition magic. With it you can create/delete/merge/resize partitions on the fly without have to reformat. It's takes off a whole lot of head-ache.

JamieR
03-29-2005, 03:26 PM
What's your hard disk size? For some reason Partition Magic 8 wouldn't partition my 120GB seagate in my desktop computer t'was weird.

Also, a decent browser like firefox is essential for teh security of your computer, as it doesn't loads any active x controls or any of the crap that IEvil does:D

Do windows update and get everything available:)

dannyhayes
03-29-2005, 03:34 PM
Hi,

I have a 80gb hd and it took me about 30 mins on a pentium 3 800mhz processor. I did this because windows xp messed up I reinstalled windows xp and it works fine now.

...{chris}...
03-29-2005, 03:57 PM
Its a 60gig hard drive, I dont have the specs on the computer itself in front of me, isnt there something you can run in the "Start -> Run" thingy to find out? I have Windows Updates on and updating whenever they come out, I just ran a virus scan yesterday and got ride of the 1143 or so worms I had. Ill look into getting those other programs listed above. I had downloaded the trial version of Norton untill I got some money to buy it, it didnt work for some odd reason. So I got Panda Titanium 2005, anyone used that before? Im starting not to like it really :/
Thanks once again.

-ChRiS

JamieR
03-29-2005, 04:07 PM
Could try start > run > winver or press windows key and pause break:D

BTW, Anything Norton apart from Norton Ghost and Utilities (Systemworks) isn't worth the money...Norton Antivirus is complete trash.

Grant Palin
03-29-2005, 05:20 PM
BTW, Anything Norton apart from Norton Ghost and Utilities (Systemworks) isn't worth the money...Norton Antivirus is complete trash.

Errrrr...Doesn't SystemWorks include the Antivirus software? You're advocating SystemWorks, which includes the antivirus software, and you're bashing the antivirus software?

I know that NAV takes a long time to start when you start your computer (I've been through the wait many times before!), but is there any other reason you're saying that?

tboss132
03-29-2005, 05:43 PM
Most viruses disable Norton Antivirus and don't allow it to run. I guess that's the reason it's not working. Norton started putting a pre-scanner on the cd which scans and removes viruses on your system before installing but the virus definitions are only as current as when the CD was released.

JamieR
03-29-2005, 05:46 PM
Errrrr...Doesn't SystemWorks include the Antivirus software? You're advocating SystemWorks, which includes the antivirus software, and you're bashing the antivirus software?


Yeh Norton Antivirus does come with Systemworks, but I've got Systemworks installed without NAV, as I prefer AVG to Norton. You can choose a custom install and choose what you want and what you dont.

AVG is better than Norton by a long way. To remove certain viruses, then the stinger is a good bet, the latest build removes stuff like bropia, serflog etc...and it isn't usually prevented from being run by malware.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum