...

View Full Version : Question



Trojanfan
03-25-2005, 06:31 AM
I currently took over a gaming website. I have never used content management systems before, but I have found myself having to take crash courses in html in order to get some things fixed and running. I am extremely new at this stuff, and will probably have many questions, so please keep that in mind and be patient with me. The guy who originally coded this is almost never online and seems very lazy at helping with the problems left after his coding.

A major thing I want to do is set a specific size for all screenshots being viewed, however the thing is the coding is set up like this:

<tr>
<td valign="top"><b><font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="3" color="#003366"><center>{GAMENAME} Screenshot</center></font></b>
<p><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif"><center>{SCREENSHOT}</center></a></font></p>
</td>
</tr>

and so I can't figure out how to set sizes for that {screenshot}. I mean, I used html myself (what little knowledge I have gained recently has helped) to do the centering and what not, but I have tried the methods I know of setting image sizes, including img src="" etc, but nothing seems to work. Any ideas?

_Aerospace_Eng_
03-25-2005, 09:36 AM
this is going to require that u know some php, you would have to know where those images are being called from, they are defined somewhere in your php files, exactly where is the part that will be tough

Trojanfan
03-25-2005, 03:23 PM
Ah. That sucks. LoL. I don't really know any php and I don't know where they are. Ah, too bad.

Is there any way to automatically make posting an article split into multiple pages? Some of the reviews and previews can get pretty long, and I'm just wondering if there is any way to easily make multiple pages and link them together.

Trojanfan
03-25-2005, 04:10 PM
Anybody have any experience with content management systems? Here is something I have been working on that I think I can fix without contacting the lazy guy who coded this thing for me.

Currently, when viewing the index of articles, under "Author" it will show who posted it, not who the actual author is. I want to change this into a custom field, so I added a custom field which shows up when I add articles. This is what the code looks like:

<table style="width:100%"><tr>
<td align="center" valign="top" width="325">
<div align="left"><b><span class="newstitle"><a class="callformat{class}" href="{ARTICLELINK}">{ARTICLETITLE}</a></span></b></div>
</td>
<td valign="top" width="175" align="left"><font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">{AUTHORFIRSTNAME} {AUTHORLASTNAME}</font></td>
</tr></table>


I have tried swapping in {custom_author} to replace the author first and last names, but it only shows the code on the index, not the name I put in. I know there has to be a way to do this, because he had custom fields put in like this in other areas and they show up fine. Any advice would be great.

Trojanfan
03-25-2005, 07:11 PM
Could someone please help with the above items?

Also, try viewing my site (work in progress): http://www.hsgamers.com/cav in IE. In firefox, everything is fine, but in IE, the words in the "spotlight" area are stacked. What's up with that? (and I know, the spotlight area pictures need to be fixed. I am trying to get the guy who coded it to put in a set size or something for them).

bradyj
03-25-2005, 07:23 PM
You might want to ask your question about the CMS system over in the php forums so that those experts get a better look at it.

As for the spotlight -- whoever did this, has some funky coding going on, and didn't do this very clean. I would recommend learning some html the right way:
htmldog.com

has some good tutorials to get you going. What looks to be the problem is the way the rows/columns are setup:


<tr>
<td align="left"><a href="#"><img src="/images/youradhere.gif" border="0"></a></td>
<td width="5">&nbsp;</td>
<td align="right"><img src="/images/sample_ad.gif"></td>
</tr>
</table>
<br> <table width="550" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" align=center>
<tr>
<td><table width="566" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" align="center">
<tr>
<td colspan="10"><img src="/images/spotlight/spotlight_top_home.gif" width="566" height="20" alt=""></td>
</tr>


Is that the area I should be looking at? Not 100% sure -- if it is, it's becuase there are nested tables in table columns... silly, since they should just be little table columns.

Trojanfan
03-25-2005, 07:44 PM
I have had a lot of people tell me the coding was done weird. I took this site over from a friend who paid a guy to do the design and coding for a cms for a new layout of the site, and that guy seems pretty lazy and obviously not very smart about it.

I have never done a thing in html before, and yet I have found myself taking crash courses in it because I have found more than 30 things that are messed up, and I have even gone in and fixed some of them (yay for me, might even be good at this stuff someday).

I'm really not sure if you are looking at the right area. I have tried to go in myself and look for the specific coding of the spotlight area and it doesn't stand out like the other sections.

Anyway, thanks for the help.

P.S. not sure about php. I could ask, but anything they tell me I probably won't understand. I barely know anything of html, and I have absolutely no clue about php or how to change/edit anything in php, or even where the php coding is found.

I was hoping that the {screenshot}, author names, and splitting the articles into multiple pages could be done with html. I will have to find a friend who knows where to find the php for the site if I want to do anything about it.

bradyj
03-25-2005, 09:07 PM
I'm pretty sure the screenshots and the like are includes -- meaning, you edit it in a separate document that contains the data (either another html file, or a SQL file) and then applies it to that section dynamically. Short of us going into your site directly (which, of course, I do not recommend), we probably won't ever know as it's part of the system.

It's a shame he did a hack job -- but this is why it's good for you to learn code anyhow. You may never get as 'advanced' as some of those developers, but atleast you'll be able to spot a hack when you see it:)

Learn the html, it'll be good for you -- not only in your personal endeavors, but for business later in life.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum