View Full Version : CSS Frames

03-20-2005, 01:30 PM
First time I'm using CSS to give a 'frames' effect - how do I change the content of the main div when a link is clicked? Thanks

03-20-2005, 02:21 PM
Use an iframe. :)

03-20-2005, 03:15 PM
I'm trying to get away from frames, that was the point of using div's .. I'm sure it's possible? People say to use div's instead of frames... :confused:

03-20-2005, 03:19 PM
It's possible, but you'd end up loading a huge amount of data into a single document, potentially... I think scripting would be required there, unless you space anchors to produce big gaps.

There's also the object tag, but support for that is screwed, as I seem to recall.

03-20-2005, 04:38 PM
well you might be able to produce the same effect with a div that has overflow:auto; and then just use php includes, you will get the effect of an iframe but it would just be a seperate page, and since the includes were already cached the browser may not have to reload them again so it may look like just that part of the page is changing

03-20-2005, 04:48 PM
Ah, thanks, it's okay I'll just use a different method.