View Full Version : quicktime in my website?

03-12-2005, 01:08 AM
im attempting to put quicktime movies on my webpage that will stream as they download. Any one know what im doing wrong?
when you go to my webpage it will load the entire quicktime movie before showing you the enterface. All you get to look at is a white box with the quicktime symbol in the middle. I would like it to start playing asap like this...

thanks for any help!

03-12-2005, 01:17 AM
The second page you linked to the .mov directly, whereas you have it embedded in the page, so, if you link to the .mov directly, they'll have the QT controls.

03-12-2005, 01:44 AM
even when I link directly ( i tried this earlier) there is a difference.
it still loads the entire movie while showing a white box with the quicktime symbol. What I want is for you to see the first frame of the movie, then a progress bar showing how much of the movie has loaded. Like below

03-12-2005, 01:49 AM
How did you save it, using what settings?

03-12-2005, 01:56 AM
i exported a quick time movie via Premiere with the following settings
23.18 frames per second
320 by 216 size
millions of coloers
sorenson 3 video compresion
audio compressed with Q Design Music
mono sterio

thanks for the help by the way, im pullin my hair out over here

03-12-2005, 02:24 AM
Try this (http://geoffers.dotgeek.org/flashanimationwebpagelow2.mov.zip), just exported it with QuickTime Pro. Settings are identical, yet it's 2MB smaller.

03-12-2005, 02:30 AM
damn I think thats what my problem is. I don't have quicktime pro because it cost 30 bucks. I only have the free version. =-/

03-12-2005, 02:32 AM
Heh, I've got two licences, mainly because I have the Production Suite, and DVD Stuido Pro includes a license, and so does Motion, so, it leaves me with 2... Before you ask, I'm using both ;)

03-12-2005, 02:34 AM
damnnnn. so its worth the money?

03-12-2005, 03:00 AM
Save yourself money, wait a couple months for QT7.