...

View Full Version : How do I position an embeded video?



duderdude2
03-11-2005, 09:03 PM
I'm trying to position an imbedded video, and while the "left" one works, the "top" one isn't.

Here's the page I'm trying it on:
http://www.gamexplain.com/videopages/test8b.shtml

As you'll see, the video should be below the headline image. How can I do that?

chump2877
03-11-2005, 10:53 PM
Add something like "padding-top:30px" to your div that contains the Windows Media Player.....see if that does what you want it to do....

duderdude2
03-12-2005, 07:52 AM
That worked great! Thanks!

duderdude2
03-12-2005, 09:52 PM
Actually, I'm having just a bit more trouble. The embedded video isn't appearing where I want it to in Firefox (it overlaps some text), but in IE it works great.

Here's the page:
http://www.gamexplain.com/videopages/test8b.shtml

In IE, the video is where I want it, but in Firefox, the video is covering up the text right above it.

What can I do?

Edit: I threw a border around the video and as you'll see, in IE, the border begins a little ways down, while in Firefox, it starts from the very top.

_Aerospace_Eng_
03-13-2005, 04:47 AM
try margin-top instead

duderdude2
03-13-2005, 04:51 AM
Just did, does the exact same thing.

Thanks anyway.

Edit: While the positioning remained the same, the border conformed to the video itself, which is interesting, as opposed to the padding which extended the borders height beyond the video itself. Anyways, the basic problem is still there.

_Aerospace_Eng_
03-13-2005, 05:35 AM
okay you should really try to avoid absolute positioning if you dont have to, please try the attached file, it uses relative positioning one time and that is for the game explain image and also when i went to view your site i got this (http://home.austin.rr.com/fairpoolerz/dunno.png) in Firefox
i think it was mainly because you had your video embedded wrong, i fixed this by using a different code, a more correct one

duderdude2
03-13-2005, 06:11 AM
That's awesome _Aerospace_Eng_. Thank you so much, I really can't tell you how much I appreciate it.

I already updated the page, could you just let me if it still gives the error?

Thanks again for going beyond the call of duty :)



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum