View Full Version : FIREFOX doesn't dispaly "Terminal" font?

03-10-2005, 03:28 PM
Hi there, i came across these issue, working on a website, and i can't really explain this, but FIREFOX doesn't seem to display the "Terminal" font.

Here's the link (http://www.cash-for-links.com), check the top menu. Opera and IE dispaly the font, FIREFOX doesn't.

Anybody came across this issue before?
Does anybody have an explanation for this?


03-10-2005, 04:06 PM
You could substitute the font with a similar font in all instances, or you could use a little server side code to serve a separate style sheet just for FF (that uses a substitute font)..... That's what I would do.....

03-10-2005, 04:08 PM
may not even have to be server side, you could possibly use image rollovers, or maybe use conditional comments http://www.thesitewizard.com/css/excludecss.shtml

03-10-2005, 05:20 PM
Hei, thanx for the quick replies, but i was actually wondering how the heck firefox doesn't load the terminal font. (i wasn't quite looking for a workaround, but for an explanation)

Very nice article there aerospace, bookmarked it ! thanx :)

The issue still remains thou.

How can this be possible?

03-10-2005, 05:27 PM
It's pretty simple.....Different browsers support different CSS standards, so eventually, if not inevitably, you will run into problems when trying to get the same code and design to work in ALL browsers.....It just won't always work that way, so sometimes you have to look for workarounds to solve the problem....