...

View Full Version : transferring from vhs to my pc?? help!



ubtheboss
09-02-2002, 11:36 PM
I have spent the last two hours scouring the internet for an easy to follow guide on how to transfer what I have on a VHS tape to my PC and I have found zilch!

Hopefully someone here can help me. Let me list what I have first

- 1.7ghz P4 80gbs HP desktop w/ CDR and DVD, Windows XP

- I replaced the video card it came with because I needed one that has an S-Video input. I bought a Radeon 7500.

- one VCR with VHS tape and an S-Video cable

I want to import what is on the VHS tape onto my PC hard drive. I then want to edit that footage. The final cut I want to put onto DVD and create a streaming file for my website.

I downloaded RealNetwork's Helix Producer Basic 9 to create the streaming file once I have the final cut on my computer. I bought a program that will let me burn a DVD without having a DVD burner.

It's getting the darn footage captured onto my computer in the first place that has me tearing my hair out.

Help!..... please :(

Phil

x_goose_x
09-02-2002, 11:52 PM
Check out http://www.vcdhelp.com . They have many useful tutorials. If you still need help, you can contact me on icq. I'll do my best to help out.

ubtheboss
09-03-2002, 12:30 AM
thanks for the feedback. Actually that site was the only one I found that came to close to helping me but I got lost in the lingo.

I went here:

http://www.vcdhelp.com/mjpeg.htm

I downloaded VirtualDub but in the instructions on that page it says....

"To capture from linein,composite or svhs change the source in Virtualdub under Video->Source."

In VirtualDub there is no 'Source' sub category under 'Video'. So I can't tell it to look for the VCR I hooked up to the S-Video jack in the video card.

I also downloaded Huffyuv codec as it says that is one of the 'requirements'. Afterdownloading it and opening it I'm not sure what else I'm supposed to do with it.

I'm wondering if the S-Video jack in the Radeon 7500 card I got is for video going out instead of video going in.....

I don't have ICQ so I just had to reply to your post.

Thanks again.

Still lost...... :(

x_goose_x
09-03-2002, 12:50 AM
In VirtualDub you need to be in capture mode before you select which device to capture from. To do so, under file select Capture Avi... then do the Video > Source.

As for whether the cable is in the right jack, I couldn't say. I own the ATI RADEON AIW base and the connectors are completely different. Check in the manual, it has pictures with everything labeled.

jkd
09-03-2002, 12:51 AM
Originally posted by ubtheboss
I bought a program that will let me burn a DVD without having a DVD burner.

... you realize that is physically impossible, right? Software cannot allow hardware to suddenly generate writing mechanisms.

Perhaps you mean VCD's, which can be played in DVD players? (Which you can write with a normal CD-R drive)

ubtheboss
09-03-2002, 01:13 AM
VirtualDub won't let me go into capture mode. When I select 'capture avi' from the File menu it can't find the drivers it needs from my source. How does a VCR have drivers?

The manual says the port I am connected to is S-Video Output. Is that the problem? I'm trying to go in through the out door? The only other ports the card has is for digital and regular monitor outputs.

x_goose_x
09-03-2002, 01:27 AM
Then you can't capture. You must have bought the regular version, not the all-in-wonder. You can buy a TV-Wonder VE for about 70 bucks canadian, 50 american. Or if you just bought it, return it and buy the all-in-wonder.

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B00005QVM6/qid=1031009098/sr=1-6/ref=sr_1_6/002-5478706-1323206?v=glance&s=electronics

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B0000630TF/qid=1031009254/sr=1-1/ref=sr_1_1_etk-electronics/002-5478706-1323206

But I wouldn't really suggest buying an ATI, because they have the worst driver support of any video company. Try looking at some alternatives.

jkd
09-03-2002, 01:38 AM
Originally posted by x_goose_x
But I wouldn't really suggest buying an ATI, because they have the worst driver support of any video company. Try looking at some alternatives.

Maybe in the past, but they are quite good right now. And you're not going to get a better tv tuner anywhere else...

oracleguy
09-03-2002, 01:49 AM
Originally posted by jkd


Maybe in the past, but they are quite good right now. And you're not going to get a better tv tuner anywhere else...

ATI Rage 128 drivers... rock solid. Radeon drivers.... stink. Hardware DVD Playback support outside of WinXP and Win9x is non-existant. It claims to but it works sometimes and it crashes and has other bugs. I have so many problems with the Radeon drivers. I hate my Radeon VE (Like a 7000 but with DVI) with the fury of 5,000 suns.

I own a ATI Rage 128 AIW, and I love it. And I've done what you want to do, put VHS tapes on your computer. You can use the ATI Digital VCR that comes with the AIW.

However the physical hardware for the Radeons is well built and it would be a great gfx card but the drivers are flaky.

x_goose_x
09-03-2002, 03:13 AM
My old rage 128 32MB is the worst card I've ever seen. It takes literally hours to get it working with win98, because for some reason the drivers decide not to work, then I need to try different variants of the drivers and sooner or later one will work, but not usually the same one. With my Radeon 32MB, also garbarge, I have to use software rendering with 95% of games, because no other rendering ever works. The only reason I ever bought an ATI card is because they're dirt cheap, Price but soon learned quality too.

ubtheboss
09-03-2002, 04:06 AM
this is interesting. Maybe one of you posters should start a new thread and invite people to tell us what video capture card they like the most. Right now I'm confused....:confused: :rolleyes: :(

x_goose_x
09-03-2002, 04:23 AM
You need a new card, whether it be a stand alone capture card or a video card with a line in. I'd try to return the one you just bought and get one with a capture card built in.

Thejavaman1
09-03-2002, 11:46 PM
Originally posted by oracleguy


ATI Rage 128 drivers... rock solid. Radeon drivers.... stink. Hardware DVD Playback support outside of WinXP and Win9x is non-existant. It claims to but it works sometimes and it crashes and has other bugs. I have so many problems with the Radeon drivers. I hate my Radeon VE (Like a 7000 but with DVI) with the fury of 5,000 suns.

I own a ATI Rage 128 AIW, and I love it. And I've done what you want to do, put VHS tapes on your computer. You can use the ATI Digital VCR that comes with the AIW.

However the physical hardware for the Radeons is well built and it would be a great gfx card but the drivers are flaky.

They 9700 drivers have been very stable, only a few prolbems in 1942 and some other games, but the new drivers have been very stable...

oracleguy
09-05-2002, 01:29 AM
Originally posted by x_goose_x
My old rage 128 32MB is the worst card I've ever seen. It takes literally hours to get it working with win98, because for some reason the drivers decide not to work, then I need to try different variants of the drivers and sooner or later one will work, but not usually the same one. With my Radeon 32MB, also garbarge, I have to use software rendering with 95% of games, because no other rendering ever works. The only reason I ever bought an ATI card is because they're dirt cheap, Price but soon learned quality too.

Which model was your rage 128? I had/have 2 Xpert 2000 32MB cards and they work great.

I don't have the redering problem you have but my Radeon recently has been causing games to crash. I've had some video errors with America's Army too. I'd replace it but I don't play very many games except for LAN Parties so it isn't a very high priority at the moment. I'd like to get a new GF4 Ti 4200 128MB when i do.

x_goose_x
09-05-2002, 05:31 AM
I have the Xpert 2k too.

I'd like to get a new GF4 Ti 4200 128MB when i do.

Don't we all.

$$$

ubtheboss
09-09-2002, 08:07 PM
Even if I were to get the GF4 Ti4200 do you think that would meet my needs? i.e. importing VHS video from my VCR onto my computer?

I assume that once I get a card that has video-in that just plugging in my VCR to the card and pressing play will not import the video to my computer. I will need some kind of software to facilitate the import. I think some of the Radeon cards come with this kind of software, like the AIW cards, but people are giving the Radeon cards a thumbs down.

Anyone have suggestions? If I get the GF4 (assuming it meets my needs) what software should I use? If I don't get the GF4 what card/software combo is the best?

oracleguy
09-10-2002, 02:08 AM
If you use the Radeons for like CAD design, Video In/Video Out, they usually work fine. It's rendering things like games is where they have most of their faults.

The AIW Radeon is probably going to be your best option for ViVO since ATI has been doing it the longest.

ubtheboss
09-21-2002, 03:23 AM
I looked at ATI's website at the AIW 8500DV. It says you can do "digital and analogue' editing. However it does not say whether it has a Video In connection that I could hook my VCR or non-digital camcorder to.

Does anyone have this card? Does it have a Video In? If not, can someone please recommend a card that has one for these specific purposes?

Thank you :D

jkd
09-21-2002, 03:43 AM
The All in Wonder Radeons have S-Video in, among other things.

I've been meaning to pick up a Radeon 8500 All in Wonder so I can plug my Gamecube into it and play it on my monitor...



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum