...

View Full Version : different space in different browsers



Mardiuzzz
03-08-2005, 10:27 AM
Hi there,

I have a slight problem with my CSS style. If I view it in different browsers, it shows the space around the text bigger or smaller. I work on a MAC and use SAFARI as my main browser. Firefox and IE show it differently though... any thoughts?

This is what my style looks like:



.kop1 {
font-family:'Times New Roman', 'Times', 'Serif';
font-size:22px;
text-decoration:none;
color:#FE401A;
padding-top: 10px;
padding-bottom: 10px;
border-bottom-width: 1px;
border-bottom-style: solid;
border-bottom-color: #96969A;
}

and my browsers:
http://www.xs4all.nl/~bentnl/tafi/browsers.jpg

tnx,
M@rdi

_Aerospace_Eng_
03-08-2005, 10:44 AM
we need to see the code to give a decent answer, but how is the text in the page, a header tag or a paragraph tag? either one of those is going to produce a different margin in pretty much every browser, try setting the margin to 0 and see if that helps, also, your font-family css is incorrect, it should be

.kop1 {
font-family:Times New Roman,Times, Serif;
font-size:22px;
text-decoration:none;
color:#FE401A;
padding-top: 10px;
padding-bottom: 10px;
border-bottom-width: 1px;
border-bottom-style: solid;
border-bottom-color: #96969A;
}
and times is that even a real font? i dunno just think it would look the same as times new roman

Mardiuzzz
03-08-2005, 10:57 AM
Hey there,

The CSS was generated by quarkExpress before i started 'reshaping' it in Dreamweaver. It generated the font-family line etc.

This is the line in the source:


<td width="483" align="left" valign="top" class="kop1"><!-- InstanceBeginEditable name="titel" --> Home<!-- InstanceEndEditable --></td>

As you can see I use templates as well. The CSS is in an external file, just to keep it easier to change for me.

tnx
M@rdi

_Aerospace_Eng_
03-08-2005, 11:04 AM
what browser is that one on the far right? again that isn't enough code there is probably something around it, but what you may want to look into is using conditional comments, http://www.thesitewizard.com/css/excludecss.shtml it will allow you to choose what css is displayed according to the browser

Mardiuzzz
03-08-2005, 02:18 PM
thanks for the suggestions,

However, for some reason it corrected itself... :confused: don't know why though... O well, i guess those things happen...

as for the browsers:
the one on top is SAFARI, then FIREFOX and then IE.

cheers,
M@rdi



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum