View Full Version : Documentation required

mlse
03-07-2005, 11:17 AM
Hi.

I am a javascript newbie (very newbie!). Can anyone recommend to me a website/book which documents the javascript language in its entireity? Coming from a C/C++/Assembly/Lisp/F77 background, what I am after is simply a reference manually which principally gives the following information:

(1) The Javascript object and coding methodologies (e.g. whether or not multiple inheritance is permitted, how to implement functional and operator overloading, which parts of a web page built-in objects provide an interface to, etc, etc).
(2) A class-based index showing the inheritance of built-in objects.
(3) A member variable and member method reference for each such object showing:
For member variables: data type, data description.
For member methods: prototype, functional description, description of return values, error conditions.
(4) Whatever else the javascript gurus who wrote said publication think is important for readers to know!

So far, I have been able to glean snippets of information on the language from websites here and there, as well as the advice of people on here (which I very much appreciate!) but I really need a complete reference!

TIA,
Mike.

jbot
03-07-2005, 12:09 PM
Hi Mike,

You sound quite skilled. Have you heard of Google? You can search for all kinds of tutorials, references, information, on it. Give it a try, you'll be pleasantly surprised.

codegoboom
03-07-2005, 12:18 PM
This may be of help, detail-wise: http://www.ecma-international.org/publications/standards/Ecma-262.htm

mlse
03-07-2005, 01:07 PM
Thanks to codegoboom - just what I was looking for! :thumbsup:

liorean
03-07-2005, 02:28 PM