View Full Version : strange footer problem

03-04-2005, 12:17 AM
I don't know what the problem with my footer is.

It is all fine when it is viewed with firefox.

But in IE, it is kind of shaky: Its height is different each time I scroll up the page and scroll back down again to view it.

You may click here (http://www.fiscalstudy.com) to view the page.

I would be happy if you let me know what the possible cause of the problem is.


03-04-2005, 12:25 AM
before i go looking into the css file this line

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1"?>
throws IE into quirks mode so it may not display the page properly take it out and see if that fixes your problem, because surprisingly it works in FF okay

03-04-2005, 12:27 AM
That is wierd.


03-04-2005, 12:28 AM
aerospace: nope. didn't make any difference.

03-04-2005, 01:26 PM
One more note that may help us define the problem:

I use a very similar script on this (http://www.fiscalstudy.com/airtravel.php) page, and the footer shows all ok there with no problems at all...

03-06-2005, 11:46 AM
so, no one knows?...

03-06-2005, 12:47 PM
okay so i ran ur css through the validator, and it found some interesting errors, it would appear that it doesn't like it when a class is defined by a number, and there is no such thing as float:top; http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/validator?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.arts-sciences.com%2Ffs%2Fside%2Fcss-fs.css&usermedium=all

03-06-2005, 02:19 PM
aerospace: Thank you. But although I have edited, and now finally validated my css code, the problem persists.. :(

03-06-2005, 02:46 PM
now that ur css validates, u should work on getting your page to validate http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.fiscalstudy.com%2F it would appear that there are some open tags somewhere, and tags that are in places that shouldn't be there and numerous other errors

03-06-2005, 05:15 PM
aerospace: errors you see among the results on the validator page are because of the '&' character in the dynamic links.

W3 validator doesn't like it.

W3 wants pages to use '&amp;' instead of '&' even in the dynamic links!

There is no other error on the page - if that's an error of course.

No open or unclosed tags.

No nothing.

It must be something else.

03-07-2005, 12:36 AM
hmm could have sworn i saw some errors about some p tags o well, i dont have the time to go through your layout and recode it or else i would, if i get the time to maybe i will go through it