...

View Full Version : Form element display problems



mrruben5
02-21-2005, 08:42 PM
What can i do about the domain check form on this page (www.extremespeedhost.com/preview)

cfc
02-21-2005, 08:53 PM
What do you want to do about it? It's simple enough to look domains up in PHP using the gethostbyname() function but I don't know about client-side solutions.

Or am I missing your intent completely?

mrruben5
02-21-2005, 11:50 PM
Well as you can see in internet explorer, it screws up the layout. Hence why I posted this in html and css, not php ;)

mrruben5
02-22-2005, 08:45 PM
I see a lot of views, but no reply's. What's keeping you guys from it?

whizard
02-22-2005, 10:33 PM
First of all, try adding background-repeat:none; to your td that holds the search box, and tell us how that looks...

Dan

EDIT: repeat-x:none; isn't a CSS command

hemebond
02-22-2005, 11:34 PM
I see a lot of views, but no reply's. What's keeping you guys from it? Your post title is crap you obviously haven't read the Rules (http://www.codingforums.com/rules.htm) or Posting Guidelines (http://www.codingforums.com/postguide.htm) your actual post doesn't tell us what the problem is most of us are/should be using good browsers (http://www.mozilla.org)

mrruben5
02-24-2005, 07:45 PM
1.You're totally right. However, ie is crap too, so my post title isn't crap in some sort of way ;)
2. I did now. I'm sorry I haven't been clear in posting this problem.
3. I think I was clear in explaining my problem, since most problems with layoutformatting appear in Internet Exploder(not a typo, lol).
4. I know that mozzilla's products own, it's just that the majority of people still use IE :(, and I want to have this layout compatible with all of the latest browsers...

Ok, now let me explain my problem/question:
There is a problem with the form tag in ie. It is always aligned top, and it always has more space attached to the bottom. How is it possible to solve this? You can view the problem here (http://extremespeedhost.com/preview), it's the domain check form.

Mhtml
02-24-2005, 07:55 PM
Well looks like hemebond has done most of my job for me. I'll be renaming this thread to 'form element display problems'.


1.You're totally right. However, ie is crap too, so my post title isn't crap in some sort of way What the? :eek: I'm not even going to try figure out how that's supposed to work.

And as for your solution. You require a sprinkle of CSS I believe, hard to tell because that link goes nowhere for me. So I'm just guessing you need to set your margins to 0px.

So in your stylesheet, or if you don't have one set the margin for the form element to 0px (you can use a class or id if you don't want this to work across the board but that's up to you):


<style type="text/css" media="screen">
form {
margin: 0px;
}
</style>

mrruben5
02-24-2005, 10:50 PM
:thumbsup: :D Thanks.

I wonder, why didn't this get up in my mind? I should be able to see there's a margin under the form in internet imploder, at least try to remove the margin from <input>. Anyway, thanx Mhtml!

Mhtml
02-25-2005, 04:03 PM
No problems. :thumbsup:



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum