...

View Full Version : Dropdowns Not Functioning Correctly



chilipie
02-15-2005, 09:49 AM
http://sazzie.chilipie.co.uk/

Not quite sure why, but in FF, if you hover over the "Mates" link, and then move the mouse down to the submenu, it dissappears. The dropdowns don't function at all in IE, even though I've linked to the JS file... :confused:

The XHTML and CSS both validate. The menu is based on the "Suckerfish Dropdowns (http://www.alistapart.com/articles/dropdowns/)" from ALA.

Thanks,

ronaldb66
02-15-2005, 01:02 PM
Ollie,

have you tried the whatever:hover (http://www.xs4all.nl/~peterned/csshover.html) behaviour script? I've been tinkering with it, and at least it creates a reliable :hover response for list items.

chilipie
02-15-2005, 01:33 PM
I've decided not to do it now - it was just meant to be a "site in a day" for a mate, and I can't really be bothered to mess around with it all...

Thanks for your help anyway, Ronald :) .

Tricia
02-15-2005, 03:10 PM
What exactly is the whatever:hover? I clicked the link and I read the post but I dont see how you implement it. Or did I just not dig far enough down?

Thanks

ronaldb66
02-15-2005, 03:58 PM
The file, actually called csshover.htc, is an IE-specific behaviour script that adds hover functionality to other elements besides the link element (a).
This can be used, among others, for dropdown menus or other menu lists where the :hover pseudoclass can better be applied to the list item then to the link itself.

The last two items in that article, "example" and "changes" contain an example of the script if effect and how to implement it, and a download/view option for the latest version.

Tricia
02-15-2005, 04:31 PM
oh thats awesome!

Too bad my site is commercial :(

I am at a complete loss for this :hover stuff in IE...

tried javascript and it works but I have two menus on the same page and I cant call the ID twice, but i have no idea how to modify the script.

hehe good times. :confused:

_Aerospace_Eng_
02-15-2005, 06:09 PM
well you could post the code in the javascript forum here and we may be able to help you modify it

Tricia
02-15-2005, 06:28 PM
Thread (and solution! Thanks Willy) is located here. (http://www.codingforums.com/showthread.php?t=52375)

thanks! :thumbsup:



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum