...

View Full Version : Having a problem with an animated image



sanderk
02-10-2005, 05:58 PM
I am trying to put an animated image on a screen that is just a pass through to the next screen while there is processing going on in the background. I am using a meta tag...
[META HTTP-EQUIV="Refresh" CONTENT="0;
to re-direct to the next screen. I have changed CONTENT="0; to 5 and then my image animates for 5 seconds, but it also delays my processing 5 seconds. Does anyone have any suggestions?

mcdougals4all
02-10-2005, 06:37 PM
Welcome sanderk,

You'll have to provide more context. What kind of processing? What are you trying to acheive?

sanderk
02-10-2005, 07:22 PM
I am using "Cool-ICE". Which incorporates how we handle our in house database and HTML together.

At the point where I am having the problem - I have gathered all the information from the user and I am ready to send the info off. The information is actually being sent to out mainframe system for processing and sent back to my screen.

The screen with the image on it logs the time & date that info was sent and sends the file for processing. This screen displays and automatically redirects to the next screen that waits for the file to come back from processing. Since this process takes 20+ seconds I wanted an animated image to let them know that it is still working, but since it redirects immediately after it displays this screen my image is not animated. I need to something that will allow my image to be animated until the next screen is displayed.

I have tried adding some javascript to my program:

[body <DocBgImg> <DocBgClr> <TextClr> <LinkClr> <VLinkClr> <ALinkClr> onload="document.inquiry.submit();"]
[FORM method=get action="<GUrLcat>summary_screen&CONTROL=<CONTROL>&ssocc=<ssocc>&ssroof=<ssroof>" name="inquiry"]

My thought here was that once my page loaded it would animate my image and send it to the next screen. It did animate my image, but didn't send me to the next screen.

_Aerospace_Eng_
02-10-2005, 07:36 PM
have u tried using this as your meta refresh tag?

<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="5;url=http://webdesign.about.com/">

sanderk
02-10-2005, 07:49 PM
Yes I have. I forgot to copy that part of my code. This is what I have.


[META HTTP-EQUIV="Refresh" CONTENT="0;URL=https://quote.nstarco.com/cool-ice/default.asp?"]

_Aerospace_Eng_
02-10-2005, 08:08 PM
and where is that meta tag, what language are u coding in?

sanderk
02-10-2005, 08:17 PM
I am coding in "cool-ICE" which incorporates HTML with BIS/MAPPER code.

[HTML]
[HEAD]
[TITLE]
[META HTTP-EQUIV...

_Aerospace_Eng_
02-10-2005, 08:48 PM
okay so y not set the meta refresh to the length of the processing, and does this image stop animating or what? most animated images loop until the browsers stop button is pressed

sanderk
02-10-2005, 08:53 PM
If I set it to a different length it delays my processing by that much more time. The remainder of my processing happens in the next program. And if I move the code from the next program to the current program my image will not be displayed until after it processes instead of while it is processing.

_Aerospace_Eng_
02-10-2005, 08:54 PM
do u have a link so we can see what is happening? its just starting to go around in circles here back to the beginning we haven't accomplished much



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum