View Full Version : Help With ColdFusion - Getting Started?

Confused!
02-02-2005, 05:16 PM
Hi everyone, I just nstalled ColdFusion MX onto my computer but I have no idea how to get started in order to test my pages. For example, where do I save my CFM files and what link do I use in a browser to view these files? I know this is very dumb but any help would be greatly appreciated as I am a total newbie.

Thanks!! :)

JamieR
02-02-2005, 07:53 PM
What do you exactly mean? I've never used Coldfusion, My Macromedia use ends at dreamweaver and homesite! Anyhow, I would think that you open your cfm files from any folder with your default browser as Coldfusion would be running on your system, but as I say, I have no experience with it myself.

HTH
Jamie.

Confused!
02-02-2005, 08:38 PM
What do you exactly mean? I've never used Coldfusion, My Macromedia use ends at dreamweaver and homesite! Anyhow, I would think that you open your cfm files from any folder with your default browser as Coldfusion would be running on your system, but as I say, I have no experience with it myself.

HTH
Jamie.

Nah, there would be a location such as 'localhost' or something but I can't figure it all out. It's not very intuitive with this side of things. Thanks for your help though.

Anyone else got any ideas?

JamieR
02-02-2005, 08:46 PM
Wouldnt it be something like http://localhost/cfdocs/mywork - mywork being C:\cfdocs\mywork ?

btw: http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla%3Aen-GB%3Aofficial&q=running+coldfusion+localhost&btnG=Search&meta=

Jamie.

oracleguy
02-02-2005, 09:39 PM
The only way I've used ColdConFusion is installing onto IIS. It's just like PHP, you install it and then your pretty much set to go. Setup a website in IIS and just put your files there and view them through your browser.

JamieR
02-03-2005, 12:31 AM