View Full Version : Object Z-index Woes!!!!!

02-02-2005, 02:53 PM
Okay.... I just got me a macromedia shockwave banner on my site that I created. However, prior to puttin it there.... I have a drop dow menu.... when you roll over the menu item a box drops down with options. The menu that appears, appears above all elements in the page.. (z-index:20) but since the macromedia movie is there now the drop down menu falls behind the OBJECT.

Is there a way that I could remedy this....
I have a pic attached showing what I mean.

02-02-2005, 03:13 PM
Forum Search does wonders:



02-03-2005, 01:02 AM
I know i must sound pretty dumb sayin this but uhhh.... I read the article and I'm not too clear on summin.... :confused:

Mind you. I've tried and it has not worked!

Do i do summin like <iframe> <object></object> </iframe>

I'm not too clear where the shockwave object code needs to go :( :confused:

Plz help!
A1ien51..... anyone?

02-03-2005, 01:40 AM
is it a shockwave banner or a flash banner? and its background is it completely constructed of an image? i know when i have had similar problems with my flash file i would set the parameter for wmode to transparent im not too sure how it will work with shockwave files

<param name="wmode" value="transparent">
doing that for flash will make the background transparent if its not constructed of an image which is y i ask if yours is made of an image and not just a single stripe and then the document color is white, u would also have to add wmode="transparent" to your embed tag or if u dont want to use transparency, u would add style="z-index:-1" or w/e it takes to get it to display below your menu, z-index refers to the layer the element is displayed on for example if i had an iframe and text over the iframe and the iframe had a z-index of 0 and the text had a z-index of 1 it would display over the iframe now if i had the iframe set to a z-index of 1 and the text set to a z-index of 0 the iframe would display over the text and u wont ever see the text unless the iframe is taken away or the z-indexes are change

02-03-2005, 05:37 AM
okay i don't know too much about it. I created it using macromedia flash mx and its saved as .swf extension.

I was hoping i could run with the examples that were supplied... the whole concept of shimmin with a DIV, but i don't understand it totally and need some clarity.

I've tried z-index tricks and that does not work.
Hey Aerospace... did u take a look at the picture i posted originally? What exactly will the "wmode" thingy do for me?

02-03-2005, 05:57 AM
Did you see the demo page in the thread that Alien51 posted?


02-03-2005, 08:00 AM
can u upload ur .fla file in a zip file? u should know a lot about if u made it... :confused: if u read this post then u would know what wmode does http://www.codingforums.com/showthread.php?t=31210&highlight=Flash+z-index wmode="transparent" will do exactly as it says, it will make the document background transparent unless u have an image as your background

02-03-2005, 05:12 PM
sorry... thanks. need to try that one

02-06-2005, 07:34 AM
I've attatched the flash file. Sorry I took so long, responding to tha post.

02-06-2005, 11:16 AM
okay now lets give this wmode a try its always seemed to work for me when i had a menu that tried to hide behind the flash

<object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="flashmovie1.swf" width="550" height="100">
<param name="movie" value="flashmovie1.swf">
<param name="quality" value="high">
<param name="wmode" value="transparent">

02-06-2005, 01:02 PM
THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Thanks alot man!
Neways... that method is beautiful... is it cross browser supported?