...

View Full Version : Help With Frames



codejunkie
02-01-2005, 05:46 PM
Hey all, I'm working on a new website using frames. Usually I just make a template and just change the content on every page, but it's become too hard to modify my website so I decided to switch to frames. I've been working on it for the past 3 days, I've got all the coding right on the other pages, but my index page is showing up miscorrectly. Here's my index code:



<html>

<head>
<title>Rob's World</title>
</head>
<frameset framespacing="0" border="0" frameborder="0" rows="130,*,20">
<frame name="top" scrolling="no" noresize target="contents" src="header.html" marginwidth="0" style="float: center">
</frameset>
<frameset cols="190,*, 225">
<frame name="contents" target="main" scrolling="no" noresize src="nav.html" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0">
<frame name="main" scrolling="auto" src="home.html">
<frame name="right" scrolling="auto" src="right.html">
</frameset>
<frame name="bottom" scrolling="no" noresize target="contents" src="bottom.html">
</frameset>
</html>


Here's (http://www.knology.net/rob943) the actual website.
If you can help me with the glitch I'd be highly obliged. I'm trying to get the finished layout to look somewhat like this (http://www.angelfire.com/sd2/robsworld). Thanks for your help,

Rob

_Aerospace_Eng_
02-01-2005, 07:16 PM
u almost had it, u had closed the frameset with rows too early, here u go i adjusted this problem and it now works

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Frameset//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/frameset.dtd">
<html>
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
<title>Rob's World</title>
</head>
<frameset framespacing="0" border="0" frameborder="0" rows="130,*,20">
<frame name="top" scrolling="no" noresize target="contents" src="header.html" marginwidth="0" style="float: center">
<frameset cols="190,*, 225">
<frame name="contents" target="main" scrolling="no" noresize src="nav.html" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0">
<frame name="main" scrolling="auto" src="home.html">
<frame name="right" scrolling="auto" src="right.html">
</frameset>
<frame name="bottom" scrolling="no" noresize target="contents" src="bottom.html">
</frameset>
</frameset>
<noframes>
<body>Your browser does not support frames please use a browser that supports frames</body>
</noframes>
</html>

codejunkie
02-01-2005, 08:40 PM
Thanks man. I feel stupid now for not seeing it lol. Thanks again

codejunkie
02-02-2005, 12:35 AM
lol, alright I have another problem. I'm trying to get the index frame to be static, and when you click a button on it only the content in the middle changes instead of the nav frame changing. Any suggestions?

_Aerospace_Eng_
02-02-2005, 01:19 AM
which one is the index frame? the one with home.html in it? what target are you links set to? if u want the nav to change they should be set to target="main"

codejunkie
02-02-2005, 01:41 AM
If you go here (http://www.knology.net/rob943) and click on one of the buttons on the nav bar on the left, that frame changes and the middle frame (home) stays the same. What I'm aiming at is when you click on a button on the nav bar the middle content changes, and nothing else.

_Aerospace_Eng_
02-02-2005, 01:54 AM
okay i figured that was the problem u have no targets assigned to your links, in your links on your nav.html add a target to them similar to target=_blank except make them target="main" for any link u want to open in the middle frame the one with home.html in it i will use one of your nav.html links as an example

<a href="/games/index.html" target="main"><img src="images/buttons/games.gif" class="gradualshine" onMouseover="slowhigh(this)" onMouseout="slowlow(this)" bordercolor="black"></a><br>
that link will open in the frame that has home.html in it, and u can take out target=main from the nav frame in your frameset code

codejunkie
02-02-2005, 02:11 AM
Thanks man



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum