...

View Full Version : How do I ensure a new browser instance on a help page?



Bubba
01-30-2005, 03:50 PM
I have 8 Icons at the top of a customers web page. One of the icons is 'Help'.

When the user clicks on the help icon I do a onClick="GoHelp()" to a javascript function:

function GoHelp() {
location="CustomersHelp.php"
return true
}

Which just brings up a help page. The problem is that the new page is not a seperate instance of a browser page and if the user clicks the "X" at the top of the customer help page it closes the browser completely and they loose there place. If they just hit the back button it works great.

How do I make sure the hlep screen is brought up in a browser screen?

How do you guys provide help?

Do you use alert() ?

Can the alert be several pages long?

TIA

Frank

dmc
01-30-2005, 04:15 PM
function GoHelp() {
location="CustomersHelp.php"
return true
}

By changing the above to

function GoHelp() {
window.open("CustomersHelp.php");
return true
}

Then it will open a new browser window.

Bubba
01-30-2005, 06:49 PM
Works great! :)



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum