View Full Version : Why is Date functionality done this way?

RadarBob
08-27-2002, 12:50 AM
OK, I've been reading the threads on Date stuff with great interest and I've begun to wonder...

Why do most of y'all code date arithmetic using milliseconds? I'm no expert (yet) but it's clear that using milliseconds is not the only way. Compared to the alternative technique, it's definitely more convoluted looking. So why do it the hard way?

For example why multiply by 86,400,000 (or whatever it is) when adding a simple integer will increment by any number of days?

I've seen a very comprehensive javascript date web site and the author says it's "folly" to do date arithmetic using milliseconds.
http://www.merlyn.demon.co.uk/js-dates.htm

So how about it? What valid reasons are there one way or the other?

joh6nn
08-27-2002, 01:46 AM
because there are built in Date methods that convert Dates to milliseconds. also, a millisecond representation of a date, is exact; you don't have to worry about the format of the date, like MMDDYY or DDMMYY.

PauletteB
08-27-2002, 08:55 AM
Radar

For example why multiply by 86,400,000 (or whatever it is) when adding a simple integer will increment by any number of days?

actually it's 86,400

60 seconds per minute
60 minutes per hour
24 hours per day is

86,400 seconds per day.

Another note...
Atomic time is based on elapsed time in seconds since January 1, 1900

WebTime - 27-Aug-2002
======================
Started up Microsoft wsock32.dll, ver2.2, 32bit of Jun 7 2000, at 21:34:15.
Socket 52 created
Connecting to Boulder, Colorado - A
URL is time-a.timefreq.bldrdoc.gov
At IP Address 132.163.4.101
Connected to Boulder, Colorado - A
URL is time-a.timefreq.bldrdoc.gov
At IP Address 132.163.4.101
Waiting to receive ...
Received elapsed time of 3239420060 seconds since January 1, 1900
System date and time successfully changed
To: 27-Aug-2002 - 01:54:19.970
Socket closed.

mordred
08-27-2002, 10:12 AM