View Full Version : Textbox.value create Link

Nogi
12-15-2004, 10:20 AM
Hi all.

I'm pretty new at scripting in general, and wonder if anyone could help me with something i'm trying to achief.

I have an .html page, that contains several textboxes. Their values are dynamic, since they are being called from a server.

One of these textboxes containes a relative url (displayed as text).
Next to it i have an onclick-button.

What i'm searching for is a script for the onclick-button, to launch the textbox.value as URL.

Textboxname : Textboxfield
Onlick-button name : Launchlink

Ex.:

Textbox displays the value: document/start.pdf
Clicking the button will launch the relative hyperlink document/start.pdf

I don't think this can be to hard to achieve, but trying out some scripts i found on the net made me realize i'm far from being an expert in these things.

Thanks in advance for any help

Kor
12-15-2004, 10:32 AM
Try this kinda:

<form>
<input name="Textboxfield" type="text" value="document/start.pdf"><br>
<input name="Launchlink" type="button" value="Launch link" onclick="location.href=this.form.elements['Textboxfield'].value">
</form>

Nogi
12-15-2004, 10:50 AM
Thanks already for your very fast reply. The only thing is, the textboxfield value is variable.

So the document/start.pdf was just an example. This value changes together with some other fields depending on a users' selection.

Is there any way to make the textboxfield.value in your script variable?

(by the way, it should run in html... is there any chance you could change it into a javascript code?)

Regards & many thanks in advance

Kor
12-15-2004, 10:53 AM
But it is variable. If user will insert another URL in textbox, the button will open the new input value (even I think this is not your intention). Could you detail your problem, please?

Nogi
12-15-2004, 10:58 AM
Look, this is the piece of code on my page that generates the textboxfield: