...

View Full Version : 16 bit ms-dos sytem problem



fosuil
12-03-2004, 01:12 PM
Hi experts
my C++ program was running on my pc ver wel, but from last few days when i m going to run C++ then its teling, 16 Bit ms dos subsytem problem, this sytem file is nt suitable for running md dos and microsoft windows application
can you tel me why ?? and how to make it workable like before, how to fix this problem ? i am using windows2000 professional

tboss132
12-03-2004, 02:24 PM
Is your system on a network? are you logged on to a domain?
What files does it show in the error box? If the error message is like this -


"16-bit MS-DOS Subsystem
path to the program you are trying to run
C:\WINNT\system32\config.nt or autoexec.nt or command.com. The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications"

Then try the solution below. It happened to me once at my work place and this was the solution

RESOLUTION
To resolve this issue, type the following commands at a command prompt to expand the Autoexec.nt, Command.com, and Config.nt files from the Windows 2000 or Windows Server 2003 installation CD-ROM to the Windows\System32 or Winnt\System32 folder. Press ENTER after you type each command. When you type these commands, replace cd-rom with the letter for your CD-ROM drive, drive_letter with the drive letter for your system partition, and system_root with the name of your Windows 2000 or Windows Server 2003 folder (this is typically either Winnt or Windows). After you type these commands, restart your computer:

Expand d:\i386\config.nt_ c:\winnt\system32\config.nt

expand d:\i386\autoexec.nt_ c:\winnt\system32\autoexec.nt

expand d:\i386\command.co_ c:\winnt \system32\command.com

NOTE:

1. d:\ is your CD-ROM drive letter (Change as necessary)
2. If c:\winnt\system32\config.nt does not work, try c:\winnt\system32\config, autoexec, command, etc.

cwizz
12-31-2004, 02:33 PM
So, I've tried that resolution and in cmd it tells me there is no destination specified. Please help...I'm trying to run Quicken 4 Windows in a Windows 2KPro environment and it gives me the 16 bit error where autexec.nt is not suitable...
I've tried expanding like you said...I even tried creating notepad entries and copying and pasting into the system 32 folder and I'm getting no results.
Someone HELP!!!!!

Cliffy boy
03-10-2005, 11:17 AM
Hi Forum,

I had the same error message come up on my PC when I tried to run a DOS based program. I'm sure one of the Windows XP SP2 updates can delete the Autoexec.nt file from your system 32 directory. The reason I say this is because it worked prior to me installing the latest updates. I done a bit of reading on it and found that I had to search my hard drive to make sure I had:

Config.nt
Autoexec.nt
Command.com

I my repair folder I had all 3 files and in my system 32 folder my Autoexec.nt file was missing. The file is generic so I simply copied and paste the file into my system 32 folder and fixed the problem.

It's worth trying this first as it is easy to do.

Cliffy Boy.

PS: The same goes for Windows 2000. I have managed to fix the problem on a PC using Windows 2000 that had all latest updates installed.

punkliveson
03-24-2005, 12:33 PM
i've got this problem with windows xp, only i can't seem to find my disk, does anyone know where i can find these files?

tboss132
03-24-2005, 02:49 PM
i've got this problem with windows xp, only i can't seem to find my disk, does anyone know where i can find these files?
You're advised to get the CD or copy the files from another system

punkliveson
03-25-2005, 02:15 PM
cheers

TD6UP
03-28-2005, 02:10 AM
IM HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM WITH MY COMPUTER. I AM TRYING TO INSTALL SOFTWARE FOR A PRINTER AND THAT 16 BIT SUBSYSTEM COMES UP. IM READING ON HOW TO REINSTALL IT BUT I DONT UNDERSTAND IT. IS THERE ANYONE THAT HAS A CLEARER WAY OF EXPLAINING IT? THANK YOU.












Is your system on a network? are you logged on to a domain?
What files does it show in the error box? If the error message is like this -


"16-bit MS-DOS Subsystem
path to the program you are trying to run
C:\WINNT\system32\config.nt or autoexec.nt or command.com. The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications"

Then try the solution below. It happened to me once at my work place and this was the solution

RESOLUTION
To resolve this issue, type the following commands at a command prompt to expand the Autoexec.nt, Command.com, and Config.nt files from the Windows 2000 or Windows Server 2003 installation CD-ROM to the Windows\System32 or Winnt\System32 folder. Press ENTER after you type each command. When you type these commands, replace cd-rom with the letter for your CD-ROM drive, drive_letter with the drive letter for your system partition, and system_root with the name of your Windows 2000 or Windows Server 2003 folder (this is typically either Winnt or Windows). After you type these commands, restart your computer:

Expand d:\i386\config.nt_ c:\winnt\system32\config.nt

expand d:\i386\autoexec.nt_ c:\winnt\system32\autoexec.nt

expand d:\i386\command.co_ c:\winnt \system32\command.com

NOTE:

1. d:\ is your CD-ROM drive letter (Change as necessary)
2. If c:\winnt\system32\config.nt does not work, try c:\winnt\system32\config, autoexec, command, etc.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum