...

View Full Version : Remove hardware check from EXE



Xenon-X
11-26-2004, 02:04 PM
Hi to everyone!

Im new on forums, Im from Spain, sorry for my bad english ;)

I have a PC game made for an specific 3Dfx card (Quantum3D Raven banshee 16Mb) and i want to remove the hardware check. The game only works if there is a Raven card plugged on PC, but it can run using other 3Dfx card plugged on same PC. For example i run the game with a Voodoo2 12Mb, but i need to have also plugged Raven to pass hardware check.
The hardware check is on EXE file. Could anyone help me to remove it from EXE?
What programs i should use?

Thanks
Xenon

Dr. Evil
11-26-2004, 04:15 PM
There might be some sort of identification number or string within the .exe that tells it which card to check for.

Xenon-X
11-26-2004, 06:00 PM
OK, but how can i edit the EXE file to find/change that string?

Saludos ;)
Xenon

aman
11-26-2004, 09:52 PM
You'll need to dissassemble the .exe, find the code that performs the card check, and byte patch the .exe to skip the check. This isn't for the weak minded :)

Spookster
11-26-2004, 11:57 PM
Reverse engineering software without express permission from the creators of that software can be and is very likely illegal. We will not discuss such topics here at Coding Forums.

Xenon-X
11-27-2004, 10:02 AM
patched! thanks!

jasonizer
01-28-2005, 02:48 PM
Mary mother of Joseph, I would die to get a copy of the San Francisco Rush: The Rock! disc patched OR Lord ShOOt me where I stand I no longer want to live.

The reason these games were bundle coded to this video card was Atari's fear of loosing sales on The Rock Arcade Machine when it was released back in 98' but as it is now 2005 and Atari is is no longer among us in the arcade scene as you can see www.atarigames.com *heh now a museum. Midway was the ones bringing it to the general public and they were all for it and I mean all for it!, it was Atari holding back the game over rights to save their arcade counterpart.

Oh boy! Oh boy! San Rush: The Rock sure was a classic rethink of the 1980's Hard Drivin'.

Amen to you Xenon-X for getting to where I can only dream to be so help me god! I do not wish to die a saddened gamer all because of this minor infraction.

Ps. Sometimes it takes a hack to make something right, the way it should now be. Whether that goes against what programmers are I think every single programmer out there would agree on this game in this situation only, for it to be the right thing to do seeing as this game was never released for retail sales alone and only bundled with this single card of any card in the whole wide world which is now inexistent imagine having to buy 8 cards to run a local network game and building 8 ancient version 1.0 agp slot machines(newer machines are not backwards compatible with agp 1.0 ie. P4/athlon32/64bit, the cards will not fit), I would rather commit suicide as I have been there sat here attempted to buy a single card let alone 8 cards and build 8 antiques. Though I will tell you when there is some perfection in life to be had I will be there and will never give up.

Xenon-X If you are still out there please get in touch with me;

Jasonizer@Hotmail.com or Largemail@Shaw.ca


Save my poor soul from a life of garbage games please! Oh Please!

http://www.quantum3d.com/press/HTMLarchive/9-28-98.html

EDIT: If anyone here that worked on this patch for him can send it to me please I would be eternally greatful.

tap16
02-18-2005, 01:43 AM
Does anyone else know anything about this? I would love to be able to play this game again, and on newer hardware. PM or Email me: tap16@msn.com.

liorean
02-18-2005, 08:14 PM
As Spook said. Closed.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum