View Full Version : Screen Capture

mex
11-15-2004, 09:09 AM
Below is a script which captures the screen and sends it to the C:\1.bmp. As i'm not a VB programmer, i would like to get help from u. that is, to add some few functions to it!
1. Not to over-write the file but to add automcatically like 001,002..
2. To enable the user to select the location using brose and not to send the file to C:\1.bmp automatically.
3. To have a shortcut key like Ctrl+Alt+P though this is not really important.

thanx for any help

---------------------
Private Declare Sub keybd_event Lib "user32" (ByVal bVk As Byte, ByVal bScan As Byte, _
ByVal dwFlags As Long, ByVal dwExtraInfo As Long)

Public Function fSaveGuiToFile(ByVal theFile As String) As Boolean

Dim lString As String
On Error GoTo Trap

If Dir(theFile) <> "" Then Exit Function

Call keybd_event(vbKeySnapshot, 1, 0, 0)

SavePicture Clipboard.GetData(vbCFBitmap), theFile
fSaveGuiToFile = True
Exit Function
Trap:

MsgBox "Error Occured in fSaveGuiToFile. Error #: " & Err.Number & ", " & Err.Description
End Function

Private Sub Command1_Click()
fSaveGuiToFile ("C:\1.bmp")
End Sub

shmoove
11-15-2004, 11:10 AM
2. http://www.garybeene.com/vb/tut-dlg.htm http://freespace.virgin.net/s.cowan/vbhowto/how_to/vb_controls/common_dialog.html

Use the filename you get from the common dialog and save to that instead and that also takes care of 1. and 3.

shmoove

mex
11-15-2004, 02:04 PM
i may not a VB expert but i sure knows what i'm asking!!! or did u misunderstood!! i dont need those 2 sites. they r of no use to the script i posted! do u went through my code!

shmoove
11-15-2004, 02:31 PM
2. To enable the user to select the location using brose

Using a Common Dialog control you get exactly that: a nice dialog that looks exactly like the ones used in every other Windows application, that let's the user choose a location and a filename.