View Full Version : almost 15

Jalenack
11-14-2004, 08:26 PM
Hey...I've noticed there a bunch of young web designers and developers cruising these forums...i've seen a bunch of awesome sites come out of them too...well anyway I was wondering if they feel they get taken seriously by adults (especially clients). I am just getting started as a web designer in my area and recently got paid for my first site $400 and everything worked out great. And i'm just in 9th grade...does anyone else have any thoughts about being young and designing web pages?

chilipie
11-14-2004, 08:34 PM
It rocks :p !

Seriously though, it does have some disadvantages. Such as...

Adults don't trust you as much.
You can't deal with credit card numbers/big payments etc.
Hard(er) to establish yourself as a quality web designer.
Most people have a stereotypical view of kids web design. You know the sort. <marquee> and <blink> tag heaven, crap spelling, about the same quality of design as a blind monkey's painting.

I haven't done any big sites for people (although I'm doing one for my Dad's work at the mo.) so any tips to getting started in the biz would be good (I'm looking at you Brady and Andrew ;) ).

Jalenack
11-14-2004, 08:48 PM
ya i know what you mean...i think the most important thing is having a portfolio that proves you make websites a bit better than blind monkeys...if people see what you've done, they might rethink their doubt about you...right now, I'm trying to convince my dad to let me update his site, Sutherland's Bicycle (http://sutherlandsbicycle.com) ...I mean this thing is from the stone age practically...any ideas on how to convince adults to let them give you a chance? I'd love to hear from some of the pros..

tsguitar2004
11-14-2004, 09:04 PM
I'm not a pro, but I've been around the block a few times...