...

View Full Version : IE error handling



florida
08-23-2002, 02:21 PM
Aug 23, 2002

I am trying to eliminate a button to not show up in IE because it only works in Netscape and I dont want it to show up in a IE browser but it should show up in a Netscape browser.

My attempt at it is not working:

if (navigator.appName != "Microsoft Internet Explorer")
{
<input type=button name=again value="Workstation Info (Netscape only)" onclick="display()"></td>
}

Any suggestions?

brothercake
08-23-2002, 03:19 PM
try something like this

var agt = navigator.userAgent.toLowerCase();

if(agt.indexOf("msie")==-1) {

... not IE

}

florida
08-23-2002, 03:45 PM
Where do I put the conditional part?

<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">
var agt = navigator.userAgent.toLowerCase();

if(agt.indexOf("msie")==-1) {

???

}


</script>

I have a bunch of table info here and then my last part of the table here:

<tr>
<td colspan=2 align=center>

<input type=button name=again value="Workstation Info (Netscape only)" onclick="display()"></td>
</tr>
</table>
</form>

HappyDude
08-23-2002, 06:22 PM
if (navigator.appName != "Microsoft Internet Explorer")
{
<input type=button name=again value="Workstation Info (Netscape only)" onclick="display()"></td>
}

Well, the main problem with this code is that you're trying to write HTML tags inside a <script> tag... either that or you're writing javascript without a <script> tag at all...

This should do what you're looking for:

<tr>
<td colspan=2 align=center>


<SCRIPT>
if (!document.all) //Using object detection to check if it's IE...
{
document.write('<input type="button" name="again" value="Workstation Info (Netscape only)" onclick="display()"></td>')
}
</SCRIPT>


</tr>
</table>
</form>



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum