...

View Full Version : DTD causes script to cease functioning.



Capt.Nemo
10-28-2004, 02:20 AM
I am trying to use a menu I created using CoffeeCup's DHTML Menu Builder. I linked the javascript file in my HTML. Everything works fine until I insert a DTD in my code. I tried HTML 4.01 Strict & Transitional, and the script doesn't function. If I use an older DTD (i.e. HTML 3.2) then it is O.K.

Firefox & I.E. are the browsers I tested it with, they both behave the same.
Any help is appreciated.....and thanks for helping a beginner!

liorean
10-28-2004, 04:00 AM
That sounds like one of the compatibility problems between the standards and quirks modes. The problem is likely to be related to the fact that in standards mode all CSS lenghts except 0 must be specified with a unit.

Capt.Nemo
10-28-2004, 04:21 AM
Liorean,
I checked my CSS and all the lengths have a unit specified. My CSS validated fine..... so I think no problems with that.
Here is my link to the external script file:

<script type="text/javascript" src="menu.js"></script><noscript>Please use navagation in footer!</noscript>

liorean
10-28-2004, 05:53 AM
Yes, you use units in your CSS - but does the menu script edit any CSS? If so, does it use units?

There arer other scripting changes when changing to standards mode, but these are the most common.

Capt.Nemo
10-28-2004, 06:18 AM
I tried to go through the menu script and give everything I could a unit, but that goofed the menu totally.
I'll email you the location of the files so you can take a look at them if you want.
Thanks

liorean
10-28-2004, 06:24 AM
Don't email it. Just post a link here. There are others here that might be able to fix it before I've even had a chance to look at it, so post it in public instead.

Capt.Nemo
10-28-2004, 06:30 AM
O.K.

"www.riehltec.com/stolls/index.html" has the DTD
"www.riehltec.com/stolls/index2.html" is without the DTD
"www.riehltec.com/stolls/menu.js" is the menu script
"www.riehltec.com/stolls/main.css" is my CSS

Thanks!

Willy Duitt
10-28-2004, 10:39 AM
O.K.

"www.riehltec.com/stolls/index.html" has the DTD
"www.riehltec.com/stolls/index2.html" is without the DTD
"www.riehltec.com/stolls/menu.js" is the menu script
"www.riehltec.com/stolls/main.css" is my CSS

Thanks!

That script is a copy of Ger's HV Menu taken from Dynamic Drive and has had its credits removed in violation of the TOS you tacitly agreed to when you got the menu from the site...

Please return the credits to the script in accordance with the Terms of Use before reposting requesting further assistance....



/************************************************************************************
(c) Ger Versluis 2000 version 5.5 24 December 2001 (updated Jan 31st, 2003 by Dynamic Drive for Opera7)
Updated 19 July, 2003 by GV for CSS CompatMode
HV Menu found on Dynamic Drive ONLY may be used on both commercial and non commerical sites
For info write to menus@burmees.nl
This script featured on Dynamic Drive DHTML code library: http://www.dynamicdrive.com
*************************************************************************************/


Additionally, since this question deals with a Dynamic Drive Script it should be moved to the Dynamic Drive Scripts Help forum (http://www.codingforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=14) where it would be more appropriate....

.....Willy

Capt.Nemo
10-28-2004, 02:23 PM
This menu script was produced with a free DHTML Menu Builder from CoffeCup software available at "http://www.coffeecup.com/free-dhtml/".
This is the script exactly as that software produced it, with only the <script> tag missing because it is being linked externally. I have not knowingly taken away credit from anybody. Let me know if there is still a problem.

Thanks!

jbot
10-28-2004, 02:53 PM
I have not knowingly taken away credit from anybody.

you might not have, but it sounds as tho someone has. ooops :eek: LOL

Capt.Nemo
10-28-2004, 03:25 PM
Where does that leave me? :confused:
Did Ger Versluis take it from Coffe Cup or did Coffee Cup take it from Ger Versluis? Or are they one and the same?
Do I need to check out the credit/copyright anymore, or can I have some help with the problem?
Just a note, the problem is there with a DTD of XHTML 1.0 or HTML 4.01, Transitional or Strict.

Thanks!

Willy Duitt
10-28-2004, 03:41 PM
Where does that leave me? :confused:
Did Ger Versluis take it from Coffe Cup or did Coffee Cup take it from Ger Versluis? Or are they one and the same?
Do I need to check out the credit/copyright anymore, or can I have some help with the problem?
Just a note, the problem is there with a DTD of XHTML 1.0 or HTML 4.01, Transitional or Strict.

Thanks!

I don't know what is going on but I know that Ger has been developing that script for several years.... I have not gone thru the script line by line but it does appear to me to be a copy of Ger's script....

In regards to the copyright, if you are using this for a commercial site, I would advise checking the copyright status...

In regards to your problems, as Liorean noted, your CSS values need to use a unit declaration... there are numerous places within that script that do not use a unit... These all must be changed.... I would advise going to Dynamic Drive and looking for the latest copy of Ger's HV Menu.... There's a good chance that he has released a revision which fixes this problem...

.....Willy

BTW: If I can find the time, I will give your copy of the script a closer inspection and compare it to Ger's....

Capt.Nemo
10-28-2004, 04:01 PM
Currently I'm not using this script anywhere, but yes, I was going to use it for a commercial site. I'll check out CoffeCup's copyright status a little more first. Seems unnatural that they don't have anything pertaining to copyright status in the script......

Thanks for the time you've spent....I'm learning. I will check out the script you mentioned.

Much appreciated!

jbot
10-28-2004, 04:25 PM
Where does that leave me?

Did Ger Versluis take it from Coffe Cup or did Coffee Cup take it from Ger Versluis? Or are they one and the same?

there are plenty more fish in the sea, and there are plenty more menu scripts. of course, you could always code your own - it's easier than you think :D

Willy Duitt
10-28-2004, 06:33 PM
FWIW: I downloaded and installed that CoffeeCup DHTMLMenuBuilder app and installed it (intrusive little bugger)...

And not only did I not find any credits anywhere in a README file or HELP file... I also decompiled all the exe's and there are no credits included anywhere other than the credits for InstallShield in the install exe....

Although I still have yet to read and compare the two scripts line for line... I believe they are the same script... Perhaps Ger is affiliated with CoffeeCup but I doubt it...

Anyway... Did you look for an updated HV Menu??

.....Willy

Capt.Nemo
10-29-2004, 02:11 AM
I went to Dynamic Drive and downloaded the script they have. They say that the file is O.K. for commercial use.....and by the way, that script works fine. (Yes, I kept the credits in it!) So I guess I'm good to go? :thumbsup:
As for Coffe Cup.....I never really thought about it before, but it does seem strange there are no credits or acknowledgements. Did they take the script and use it as their own? I'm kinda curious......
My original problem is fixed, does that mean this post should be closed? Do I close it?
Thanks for all the help!

And Willy Duitt....I gotta know.... who is "he" and what is he deciding to do??! :D



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum