View Full Version : $$ variable

arjaya
10-22-2004, 08:20 PM
Hello,
This may be a simple question that I have yet have an answer. What purpose does the following line of code achieve?

global $$link;

What does the double '$' in front of the link variable do? I'm new to php and have been looking at example code and came across this.

Thanks!

dswimboy
10-22-2004, 08:43 PM
$$link is a variable. $link is called a reference variable. References are really rather confusing, and i wouldn't recommend using them unless you have to. i wouldn't recommend learning much about them either. i'm sure O'Reilly has a book on the topic, and i found a site on the topic. my native language is Perl, but it is extremely similar to PHP. the concept is all that counts here anyway. http://www.troubleshooters.com/codecorn/littperl/perlsub.htm#References

marek_mar
10-22-2004, 08:46 PM
http://www.php.net/manual/en/language.variables.variable.php

arjaya
10-22-2004, 09:45 PM
Excellent Thank you!

arjaya
10-22-2004, 09:52 PM
I actually saw this particular instance while looking through some osCommerce PHP code in the database.php functions.

Here is a snippet of 2 functions from the .php file:

function tep_db_connect($server = DB_SERVER,
$username = DB_SERVER_USERNAME,
$password = DB_SERVER_PASSWORD,
$database = DB_DATABASE, $link = 'db_link')
{
global $$link;

if (USE_PCONNECT == 'true')
{
$$link = mysql_pconnect($server, $username, $password);
}
else
{
$$link = mysql_connect($server, $username, $password);
}

if ($$link) mysql_select_db($database);

return $$link;
}

function tep_db_close($link = 'db_link') {
global $$link;

return mysql_close($$link);
}

Also, why do would they create wrapper functions as seen above and use these wrapper functions throughout the whole scope of the osCommerce site?

Thanks again!

marek_mar
10-22-2004, 10:01 PM