...

View Full Version : html/css dropdown doesn't work in mac ie



lejon
10-17-2004, 04:16 AM
I'm trying to figure out why my dropdown menu doesn't work on mac ie. I know the actual site doesn't work well on mac ie, most of the css was a placer to just get it up, and will be changed accordingly. For the dropdown I'm using the javascript snippet from alistapart and then modified it to show png transparencys on both ie and mozilla, on both of which it works great.

Here is the link:

http://www.jmparsons.com/steve_k/main/

thanks

gsnedders
10-17-2004, 02:09 PM
IE5 Mac is rubbish, and almost nobody uses it... so support for it isn't necessary...

JamieR
10-17-2004, 02:25 PM
er.......i agree with Error 404, now the big test is, does your website look correct in firefox, as it is *undoubtedly* the best browser there is!!

gsnedders
10-17-2004, 03:13 PM
No, Safari's best browser...

Back on-topic, 0.3% of web users use Mac IE ;)

JamieR
10-17-2004, 03:28 PM
ouch!! I don't have a Mac, so I can't use Safari - but according to websidestory.com, IE is fast losing a bigger share of the market.

brothercake
10-17-2004, 09:03 PM
Use of mac/ie5 is pretty much tied to MacOS version - people who are still using OS9 are still using ie5; people on OSX are mostly using Safari (or Opera, Firefox, Camino, OmniWeb ...)

So as OS9 drops off in useage, mac/ie5 should go with it. But that time hasn't quite come yet .. sadly ... I don't think. It's still necessary to support it for at least another year.

As to your problem .. er I dunno actually - that's well weird that is. The first thing I'd try is adding float to the <a> as well

gsnedders
10-17-2004, 10:05 PM
True, but more and more people are moving to OS X, Panther is the biggest release of Mac OS, with over 12,000 copies shipped...

lejon
10-17-2004, 11:34 PM
thanks all of you, even though this was a very funny thread, I have come to the conclusion that i shouldn't support mac ie. Can anyone let me know how it looks in those other browsers? In the future if I write for ie and mozilla is that good enough? Or is firefox and opera etc. different enough that I should install them?

gsnedders
10-18-2004, 07:58 PM
Mozilla, FireFox and Camino all run off the Gecko engine, so checking in one should be enough. You should download the free trial of Opera, normally if your site works in the Gecko engine, it will work well in Opera...

JamieR
10-19-2004, 09:50 AM
whens mac os x tiger coming out?

gsnedders
10-19-2004, 06:05 PM
First half '05 or at least according to Steve Jobs at WWDC and Phil Shiller at Apple Expo Paris (only watched the webcasts of them both. Twice.)

lejon
10-20-2004, 01:59 AM
I got firefox, its awesome! Anyways one last question. I'm trying to keep a tableless design, but its an issue regarding height. On the site where the main text is, I'm trying to get the three divs to have the same height. I was thinking of making the css dynamic through php and then grabbing the variable for the height of the longest div and applying it to the others. Is this just too much work? Should I revert to using tables?

thanks again



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum