...

View Full Version : NS 4.x anyone?



premshree
08-22-2002, 01:21 PM
Just wondering.........after having browsers like IE 6, and all the excellent Mozilla based browsers; do people still use NS 4.x browsers?

JHallam
08-22-2002, 01:22 PM
Hey..
http://hotwired.lycos.com/webmonkey/reference/browser_chart/ :thumbsup:

mordred
08-22-2002, 02:50 PM
Unfortunately, the answer is "yes".

Some people are just damn lazy and won't change their surfing habits, which include their favorite browser.

Some people have no chance to decide because they surf from their workplace, and many (especially larger) companies still use NN4.x because they only upgrade software after extensive testing and that at irregular intervals.

And some just like it.

Personally, I believe NN4.x is at the moment one of the greatest obstacle for penetration of web standards. Only lucky thing is that the number of users, regardless which statistic you believe in, is declining.

ventura
08-22-2002, 06:26 PM
http://www.dataoncall.com/web-browser-stats/browser-statistics.jsp

ns4 is the turd that won't flush.

Roy Sinclair
08-23-2002, 09:11 PM
Originally posted by ventura
http://www.dataoncall.com/web-browser-stats/browser-statistics.jsp

ns4 is the turd that won't flush.

My thoughts are similar. Of course after Netscape 4, IE is the next great obstacle to standards adoption.

premshree
08-25-2002, 07:08 PM
I am surprised! NS 4.x seems to be amazingly surviving!
But is it worth it? I don't think so (am I wrong?)

delamuca
08-25-2002, 09:30 PM
http://home.netscape.com/ex/shak/browsers/using/images/netscape6_70x70_1.gif is the
http://jan.marbellalife.com/box-office/ratings/turd.jpg
that won't http://thumb-1.image.altavista.com/image/168849262

duniyadnd
08-25-2002, 11:00 PM
I remember i used it once. :o

Duniyadnd

RadarBob
08-25-2002, 11:30 PM
Yeah, I still use NS 4.6 on my iBook. So what? Does what I need it to do so it's good enough. When NS 6.0 came out seems folks couldn't say enough bad about it. Better now I guess?

I'd bet dollars to doughnuts that there are folks on Windoze 3.1 still.

duniyadnd
08-25-2002, 11:36 PM
To RadarBob, yeah, got a 386 SX right next to this one, for old programs that for some reason don't work on this one, and that has windows 3.1, though i hate using it, prefer DOS, LOT FASTER!!! :D

Duniyadnd



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum