View Full Version : CSS Not rendering Correctly in IE6 and Opera 7

10-10-2004, 10:54 PM
I have been fighting with this for some time now and cannot seem to figure it out. :confused: I have some css written on www.vonstorm.com/php (http://www.vonstorm.com/php) and it is rendering different in IE6 than it is in Opera 7. I am mainly talking about the images to the left. Is there something that I can do about that so it looks the same way in opera that is does in IE?

Thanks for any help. I am pretty new to CSS although I have been doing a lot of studying :)

10-11-2004, 01:00 AM
First off:
<style type="text/css" media="all">@import "vss.css";</style>
Bad hat. Improper use of style & import.
use <link> to attach stylesheets

Second: Doctype goes above <html>

Third: Id is supposed to be unique. for elements that will be used more than once, use class

Fourth: Spans are generally used for inline content. Use Divs, or use display:block; to change them to block elements. This IS your problem.

10-13-2004, 08:30 PM
Thank you for your reply.
I was using header and footer files because the website was originally done in html. Now that I am using CSS and PHP I am only using 1 file. I did not realize that I had the <html> in the header file above the doc type.... when I fixed that.... everything screwed up so I rewrote everything from scratch again. What a mess! (Well, a good attempt for my first time :) ) Doesn't it just give you a warm fuzzy feeling to find out all of these hours and days you have spent learning to program a new language and you find out you were learning it incorrectly! :eek: