...

View Full Version : PHP guestbook that does not output tables



bradyj
10-07-2004, 07:48 PM
I searched through the archives, and I've searched just about everywhere, and only halfway through hotscripts, I thought I just might ask out of fear of starting another guestbook thread.

Where can I find a PHP guestbook, that does not apply tables or font tags... All I want it to do is put in semantic tags (headers or something) that I can control via CSS -- it can be linked to a text document, that's fine. Simple, nothing major, but I've gone through hundreds and only see tables and font tags and center tags...

Nightfire
10-07-2004, 07:56 PM
You'll find that almost all of them will be done that way. If you can show me how you want it to be presented I could knock up a guestbook for you

bradyj
10-07-2004, 08:09 PM
I'll shoot you a link on the site for that if you do, or I can give you some cash or a amazon gift if ya' got a wishlist, whatever's your preference:)
It's for the nieces site:
http://www.alexisbarbosa.com/

Essentially all I would need is it to spit out the follow:


<div>
<h3>Name of who signed</h3>
<blockquote>What they had to say</blockquote>
<cite>Date of signature</cite>
</div>


That gives me the power to style that puppy via CSS without classes, since it'll already be in the 'content' id. I don't think I need anything special like word filtering, just the PHP for my form to send to, and it writes either a SQL database or text file and just keeps dropping the newest comment on the page, whatever works best (and directions on how to work it would be helpful).

Thanks Nightfire! Let me know a way to repay you! :thumbsup:

Nightfire
10-07-2004, 10:46 PM
Will get onto that for you right now. No need for payment as it's a simple thing to do really. Only takes 20 mins of my time - if that.

Nightfire
10-07-2004, 11:34 PM
Here it is. I've added a readme to help you, just incase. It runs from mysql, all explained in the readme anyway. (see attachment). Easy for you to fit into your site

bradyj
10-08-2004, 12:15 AM
in phpMyAdmin I have these tabs:
Structure and SQL

In Structure I can create a new table by adding a name and fields - is the name just the first part of that text I am to paste over, the field in the {} section?

Or am I pasting it into the SQL part

And of course you'd get something, I'm just debating the popcorn maker or resevior dogs:)

bradyj
10-08-2004, 12:17 AM
Nevermind, got it figured out... however, now it says:


Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/httpd/vhosts/alexisbarbosa.com/httpdocs/guestbook.php:7) in /home/httpd/vhosts/alexisbarbosa.com/httpdocs/guestbook.php on line 34


Any ideas?

Nightfire
10-08-2004, 12:19 AM
Oops, forgot to delete something. delete thie line that says

header($_SERVER['PHP_SELF']);

Line 10 on the main page

bradyj
10-08-2004, 12:28 AM
Perfect! -- that rocks:

Would you like a hook up in the comments for this?

Nightfire
10-08-2004, 12:30 AM
Nah, it's ok :)



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum