View Full Version : Better way of getting workstation status

10-05-2004, 04:23 PM
Anyone know a better way of getting hte status of a workstation on my network?
Right now I am using this:

shell_exec("ping -n 1 -w 1 $workstation");

Using that with about 45 computers really slows the script down though.

sir pannels
10-06-2004, 02:11 PM
Haven't seen php and *nix commands before, but heres my guess...

shell_exec("finger $workstation");

10-06-2004, 02:17 PM
Actually it's on a Windows server. The ping command works just is kinda slow pinging all the computers.

sir pannels
10-06-2004, 02:37 PM
lol how could I not notice that.

In which case... I have no idea :p