...

View Full Version : Linking to Framesets from Outside Source



jaywig
09-28-2004, 04:28 PM
Hi everyone...I hope someone can help.

Here's my situation: Our website's main page is a frameset with only two frames (a top one for identification and navigation and a bottom one for content). When we send out an email promotion to clients with a link to a page on our website, I'd like to know if anyone knows if it's possible to have the frameset load with the properly linked page in the lower frame rather than have only the content page load into the browser.
Is there a special way to write the link? Or do I need to include some kind of Javascript function in the frameset or the top part's html to catch the link and display it properly? Or is it even possible?

Thanks in advance.....

Roy Sinclair
09-28-2004, 06:16 PM
Frames and Framesets have been creating these kinds of problems ever since they were invented. I highly recommend that the next time you redesign your web site that you make the use of frames historical.

For now though you can use a couple of workarounds, one possibility is to create a new frameset with the normal top frame and the targeted content page instead of the normal default content page and send the url of the new frameset instead of the url of the content page.

The other possibility is to add some javascript to your frameset to see if there's an additional parameter on the url and to load the apppropriate content page based on that parameter, otherwise leave the default content page. Then you send out the modified home page url instead of the content page url.

jaywig
09-28-2004, 06:56 PM
Thank you kindly, Roy. I believe my boss would prefer the Javascript option. Do you know of anywhere I can get some info on doing that particular function?

Roy Sinclair
09-28-2004, 07:09 PM
There should be an example or two right here in the "Javascript" forum.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum