...

View Full Version : help with autosubmitting to a javascriptted page



cginewbie
08-20-2002, 11:21 PM
Hi,
I am trying to write a cgi-bin
script to submit a keyword
to a page(written in javascript)
I thought that the http field at
the top of the browser would show
the entire string that is POSTed.
But, since this page is written in
javascript, nothing appears in
the "http" field after I "submit"
the keyword (except the original link)
Then after a while, the results appear.
I want my script to automatically
download this page and save the result
locally.
How do I "submit" a "keyword" field to a javascript, from a cgi-bin perl script?

thanks for any help!

beetle
08-21-2002, 12:00 AM
I'm, I'm not totally sure if I know what you are asking....but if you want to access from data from javascript, you need to use the GET method for your forms...not POST

cginewbie
08-21-2002, 12:53 AM
okay,
sorry to confuse you.
Here's what I am doing

in my cgi-bin dir. I am writing
a script "geturl.pl".
This script is automatically
trying to get a webpage,
say "www.something.com", that
has a form which requires you to
enter a keyword.
I want to provide the keyword thru
my script, by doing a
open_http("blah.com/something?=keyword")
or something similar.
however, when I manually enter a
keyword at the page (www.something.com) I am trying to access,
in the browser in the Location field, the
text doesn't reflect the keyword, when I hit
the submit button.
So, for instance, this current page:
http://www.codingforums.com/newreply.php?s=&action=newreply&threadid=4498

has a whole bunch of "?","&","=" characters
but my target page simply shows the result of
the keyword search.The Location field :"http"
doesn't change.
It's as though you entered:

www.codingforums.com

Search: mysearchword.

the results are returned, but
the "Location" field still would show
www.codingforums.com

So, I am at a loss as to how to construct a
appropriate string to supply to the "open_http"
to provide the keyword automatically.

maybe this is too confusing.
well, thanks anyways.

brothercake
08-21-2002, 10:57 AM
what beetle said ... change the method from "POST" to "GET" and then it will show in the url



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum