View Full Version : How easy is activex

09-17-2004, 03:02 AM
I have never used ActiveX before untill now when somone wanted to add a .exe file to their site
would that simply be a include feature like php where you simple link it up between the <object> tags
or is it more complex than that

Roy Sinclair
09-17-2004, 04:13 PM
You can call an ActiveX object using the <object> tags but on a internet web page that had best be a common ActiveX object like the Flash player or the users will be getting popup questions or even outright rejecting the object.

09-17-2004, 05:46 PM
Roy's right plus most people's browser settings, especially with SP2 are probably set to automatically reject unsigned activeX objects so I'd recommend you try and do that but I'm not sure how you'd go about doing that, I've never worked much with developing ActiveX and webpages.

09-28-2004, 11:04 AM
somone wanted to add a .exe file to their site

why does someone wanna add an exe to their site - is this a public site or an intra/extra-net? i don't think i'd trust a site with an exe floating around, sounds a bit sus to me.