...

View Full Version : Jump to another site



Buff
08-13-2004, 02:00 AM
I have a site on tripod that, of course, brings up ads.

I have another site that doesn't but the name is much longer.

I'd like to automatically jump to the other site from the tripod site.
Right now, I'm just using a simple
<a href="http://....>Enter</a>

The site also seems to bring up a search screen as part of the I.E.
screen which I'd like to stop. Any ideas would be appreciated. And
any ideas on getting to the other site before the ads pop up.
(I have little hope of doing that).

Thanks

mcdougals4all
08-13-2004, 02:42 AM
Probably other ways, but here's a few.

Make sure your initial page has little or no content so this redirects quickly.

<body onload="location.href='your_second_page.html'">

Or try this without javascript (place between your html head tags). CONTENT equals the number of seconds before redirect.

<META HTTP-EQUIV=Refresh CONTENT="10; URL=your_second_page.html">


Both have their drawbacks. In the first, nothing happens if javascript is disabled. The second can also be disabled, but using both together should redirect most visitors to the second URL.

I don't know how/when Tripod ads are opened with the first page load, but you may not be able to prevent them even redirecting immediately.

Buff
08-15-2004, 05:05 AM
Unfortunately, it didn't work. I ended up just deleting the html. Better to get
a page not found than all that __ap.

I will try it again though and thanks for the code.

I'm going to try putting <!-- before the body tag too.
That used to block some stuff though probably not anymore since they are
im sure wise to that.

jamescover
08-15-2004, 05:54 AM
I'm going to try putting <!-- before the body tag too.
That used to block some stuff though probably not anymore since they are
im sure wise to that.

That would violate your Terms Of Service @ Tripod.


-james



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum