View Full Version : Help! I need to make a drop down menu

08-09-2004, 09:06 PM
I'm a little new at this. I'm building a site in Dreamweaver MX and I want to have one of those menus at the top of the page where your curser passes over a graphic and a menu drops down from the graphic. I've seen some dhtml menus that do this, but it appears that the menu has to be in a straight line, not broken up into different places like mine is (into two lines seperated by a center graphic).
Does anyone have any advice on how I should proceed?

08-10-2004, 04:02 AM
Hi, welcome to CF :)
There are thousands of different drop-down menu scripts out there - the best (for many reasons) being this one: http://udm4.com/
Ulitmate Dropdown by CF's own brothercake.
If you provide us with an image of what you want the menu to look like, we can give suggestions from there.

08-10-2004, 08:10 AM
Something like Xara webstyle has many built in templates for drop down menu's

08-10-2004, 12:11 PM

I use and love Sothink DHTMLMenu. Great program. You'll find it here http://www.************. But there are also many (free) alternatives. Just try a bunch and see which one you like most.

08-10-2004, 02:33 PM
Hi. Thanks for all the suggestions. I downloaded a menu from UDM, which I think will work. I am not sure how to put it into the existing website.

So you can see what I'm talking about, the temp version of the website my boss wants is: http://users.erols.com/bethucc/New/godisstillspeaking.html (I work at a church). Anyway, I need to put the drop down menus from the graphics with "who", "what", "where", & "why". How do you insert the code so that it works off the gif file? Can I even do that or must it be from a link?

Thanks for your help!

08-24-2004, 01:21 PM
Whoaaaaaa! Before you even think of adding drop down menus - you really need to sort the extremely large image out! At over 500k it is way off the scale.

What you are doing now is using the html of your page to resize the image.

What you need to do is resize the image in your graphics editing package to the size you want it to actually be on screen.

If you want a leaner faster option to a DHTML dropdown menu, you coud always use pure html+CSS to acheive similar results, with a fraction of the code, here's an example;


Though obviously there are compatability issues with this approach.

Kind regards,