...

View Full Version : Chatterbots



simplyskate
07-14-2004, 02:39 PM
Hey i have made my own chatterbot using javascript, and if anyone has saw the chatbot HAL they will know what i want to do. I want to make a learning feature for my bot, so when someone says something to it and the bot replies with the wrong answer, you could just type in... 'Wrong, (answer goes here)' and the answer would get saved into the bots memory. I have tried to do this but i it wont work, so if anyone knows how, i would appreciate you sharing that with me...

nolachrymose
07-14-2004, 03:12 PM
I highly doubt you wrote a chatbot in JavaScript...
You'll need a server-side language to do this, because JavaScript cannot write to server files (and only to client files through an ActiveX object).
Just as a note: this approach of self-learning robots may result in some odd answers, due to the fact that users can enter anything they wish for the correct answer.

Hope that helps!

Happy coding! :)

jbot
07-14-2004, 03:39 PM
I highly doubt you wrote a chatbot in JavaScript...
You'll need a server-side language to do this, because JavaScript cannot write to server files

yes it can - well, JScript, at least. you use it with ADO to connect up to a remote DB, and can use SQL just as if it was being used via ASP, PHP or whatever else serverside.

you can also use ActiveX and JScript to manipulate MSN Messenger to achieve the same effect.

however, the best and most secure method is to go via serverside coding. naturally. :D

simplyskate
07-29-2004, 02:52 PM
hey guys thanks for the help, i have installed and learnt php and mysql now and i am now making a chatbot using them. So far i have got a simple database with two columns, in one column ive got words which the person will type in and in the second one i got words which the bot will reply with. On the page, i have also got a feature which allows people chatting to the bot to enter in their own words and replies for the bot.

It is very simple, so i was wondering if you could give me some ideas to make it better, or help me on a few ideas of my own. Like to maybe add new tables, each table is a different emotion of the bot, like happy sad etc, and have different words trigger off which table the database switches to.

Or somehow, have different columns or tables with nouns adverbs etc in. And the bot will be able to string its own sentence together.

If you have any ideas or comments please post them.

jbot
07-29-2004, 03:07 PM
sounds like overkill to me.

can't you just use PHP to relay the form input to the user making the request. you'd use PHP in this instance as an XML-RPC server, since you don't want the page to refresh each time new info is posted or recieved. you just want it updated on screen.

that would be a lot simpler. i don't really see why you need to use a DB for this.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum