View Full Version : Functions & Arrays Urgent help needed

cypher083
07-10-2004, 04:36 PM
I am currently studying JavaScript, and the examples in the textbook is worth SQUAT!! Please help with the following problem.

A company has a news letter and they want it to be displayed on a web page. They asked you to create a web page that will allow for easy updates each month. The page should be displayed in frames. When the user clicks a news item on the left then the item must open in the right frame.

1. Create a function to initialise a new array that will store each newsletter news item and its URL.

2. Create a function that will add a newsletter item to the array. The function should accept a headline and associated URL.

3. Create the array that will store the news item by calling the function created in steps 1 & 2.
IMPORTANT TAX LAW CHANGES - tax.htm
DEDUCTING MEDICAL EXPENSES - medical.htm
RETIREMENT PLANNING - retire.htm
UPCOMING SEMINARS - seminars.htm

4. In the BODY portion of the Web page, enter the code that will display the array items constructed in step 3.

PLEASE HELP!!

regards
cypher

SpiritualStorms
07-10-2004, 05:38 PM
Out of curiousity, do you know what JavaSCript is? Do know what its capable of?

cypher083
07-10-2004, 06:08 PM
Well, I only started with JavaScript earlier this year for the first time, but the examples in the textbooks are not very informative. Why do you ask?

SpiritualStorms
07-10-2004, 06:11 PM
I ask because it seems like what you want would entail something other than JavaScript. From what i know, JavaScript can not technically read from files, or write to files, or at least, files that are not HTML. You want for some sort of updater, correct?

cypher083
07-10-2004, 06:26 PM