...

View Full Version : What does it mean when i cant access a sites code?



SpiritualStorms
07-09-2004, 08:48 AM
I seem to have a mouse that sometimes works, and sometimes, does not. When i try to view the source code of some sites, sometimes it works, and some times, it does not at all.

jbot
07-09-2004, 10:13 AM
I seem to have a mouse that sometimes works, and sometimes, does not. When i try to view the source code of some sites, sometimes it works, and some times, it does not at all.

in wot context? how do you mean can't view a site's code - by right clicking, then choosing "view source"?

if the user has chosen to disable the right click, then you can disbale JS and just view it for yourself. easy!

SpiritualStorms
07-09-2004, 10:15 AM
Yes, when i right-click, to access the view source command.

jbot
07-09-2004, 10:43 AM
they've just disabled the right click because they're stupid enough to believe that they're code is so unique that no one else in the known universe could code it for themselves.

they're also don't realise that it's easily gotten around. disable JS, refresh the page, then right click and you can view the source again.

another technique is to save the file. then it's on your machine and no amount of silly JS techniques will protect it then.

wow! what was the point in the pretending to hide your source when it's so easily gotten.

SpiritualStorms
07-09-2004, 11:09 AM
I dont know, but it's sort of odd how, i would right-click, and right-click, and choose "view source" but nothing shows. And even when i would go to the VIEW menu, and choose source, still nothing popped, and i would end up rebooting thinking maybe thats what i need to do. Usually, those types of scripts are used with an alert box that would tell you why the code could not be accessed.

Really freaks me out when, things dont go as you think they are supposed to. Makes me paranoid, you know, that maybe some scumbag has loaded some virus on my system, and now my system is off-balance somehow.

At any rate, i managed somehow to get the code.

jbot
07-09-2004, 11:14 AM
it depends what browser you're using. sometimes Firefox, for example, fails to show the source.

are you sure the source wasn't still there. yes, i know it sounds patronising, but sometimes the developer puts lots of blank lines at the top of the document to page to make it look like the source is blank. all you need to do tho, is to scroll down and it's still there.

lordofthesword8
07-09-2004, 11:17 AM
To hide a script, stick it in an external .js file! Its harder to view, but its still possible...

SpiritualStorms
07-09-2004, 05:31 PM
are you sure the source wasn't still there. yes, i know it sounds patronising, but sometimes the developer puts lots of blank lines at the top of the document to page to make it look like the source is blank. all you need to do tho, is to scroll down and it's still there.

Yes, i am sure. Generally, when i click on view source, the note-pad window pops up. Some times, it doesnt, and i dont fully understand why it doesnt. I right click, wait for the hour glass to finish, and boom, there's no note-pad window.

It wasnt an issue of many blank lines. If the note-pad window is not up, it means somehow something went wrong, and the code then will not be displayed, since the code is generally displayed in a new note-pad window.

Willy Duitt
07-09-2004, 05:54 PM
That is an IE cache problem.
You need to clean your Temporary Internet Files.
(Tools --> Internet Options --> Delete Files)


Or some tricks on autocleaning your temporary files:
Many of us know about the Search trick used to remove .tmp files by bringing up the command line and:
typing this: *.tmp,*.chk,~*.*
And deleting what comes up.

Try this instead-
Open Notepad and type this exactly as shown:

cd\
del /s *.tmp,*.chk,~*.*

Note: This is not wrapped, it has to be on 2 lines.
Then "Save as" something like tmp-del.bat
Then create a shortcut to that file on your desktop (or wherever you put such things).

When you dbbl-clk the icon, a cmd line window will open, and it will begin to search and delete the files automatically.
When the window closes you are done.

.....Willy

jbot
07-09-2004, 07:50 PM
cheers for that, Willy, never knew that. :thumbsup:

SpiritualStorms
07-10-2004, 01:25 PM
Try this instead-
Open Notepad and type this exactly as shown:

cd\
del /s *.tmp,*.chk,~*.*

Note: This is not wrapped, it has to be on 2 lines.
Then "Save as" something like tmp-del.bat
Then create a shortcut to that file on your desktop (or wherever you put such things).


I know that CD\ means change directory, but what does the rest mean? Especially the wild cards. and the wavy lines. I never really did learn the command prompt all that well. In fact, it wasnt until i began to learn Java that i ever really had a whole lot of use for the Prompt window.

Mr J
07-10-2004, 07:34 PM
I have one that clears my temp folder as well as this .bat file that clears my recent folder


echo y| del \windows\recent\*.*
exit

Willy Duitt
07-10-2004, 07:54 PM
I know that CD\ means change directory, but what does the rest mean? Especially the wild cards. and the wavy lines. I never really did learn the command prompt all that well. In fact, it wasnt until i began to learn Java that i ever really had a whole lot of use for the Prompt window.

cd\ == move into root
del == delete
/s == look in subdirectories
*.tmp, == all temporary files
*.chk, == all chkdsk - recovered file fragments
~*.* == all files using the tilde shortcut to your desktop


You know, you can answer many of these questions yourself by doing a simple Google search. Using del /s *.tmp,*.chk,~*.* as the keyword would have brought up hundreds of returns, any of which could fully answer your question.......

......Willy



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum