...

View Full Version : ASP and Macintosh



avivit
06-29-2004, 08:15 AM
Hi,

I have been written asp pages that were working for Windows OS as well as MAC, although I haven't done anything soecial to adopt to MAC.

Recently, after I made many changes in the asp pages, MAC users are having problems with the asp pages.
Is there anything special that should be taken under account for MAC users?
What can cause any problem?
Whay shall I ask the MAC users?
I know absolutely nothing about MAC.
Maybe a problem with a certain browser of MAC? A new version of it maybe?

Thanks

raf
06-29-2004, 08:57 AM
You mean that the clients are using a MAC right?

ASP sends out straight html or html or whatever other code you could have hardcoded. On the clientside, there is absolutely no difference between dynamically generated html or handwritten one, from the clients ppoint of view. So as long as the client has a user agent (a browser most likely) that can handle html or xhtml or XML or whatever you generate, then it doesn't matter if its a PC or MAC or a fridge.
Maybe you included some javascrip in your html-pages (tssj,tssj) that aren't cross-browser/cross-platform

avivit
06-29-2004, 09:10 AM
Thanks.
Do you know of good sites to read about safari's browser for example(which, I understand, is the default browser of Mac) ?

I guess that if the Mac users will use IE, they should not have problems (???)

Thanks,
Avivit

raf
06-29-2004, 09:20 AM
if you generate pure html, then it shouldn't matter much.

for javascript, there are more issues, but this is kinda almost scriptdependent so you'll have to try it out and see which hacks you need.
for css, it's more aless the same. you'll need to try it out and then look for hacks. Maybe as a starting point:
http://www.outfront.net/tutorials_02/adv_tech/compliance1.htm

but it's realy as simple as : write standard compliant code and don' use javascript unless absolutely necessary (what can be done serversided, should be done serversided + you'll need to know your audience before relying to much on javascript. For instance in an adminarea where there will be only 5 users, you'll probably know if they have javascriot anabled, while on a public site, about 10% of your visitors will have it disabled) and even then only for non-critical features.

avivit
07-01-2004, 11:34 AM
Thanks.

I've now found that the problem is with the javascript:
I am opening 2 windows one after the other (normally the user sees the 2nd, as it is pretty fast).
Works for IE, NS ,
but in safari in Macintosh, the browser does not replace the url2 with url1, but stays with the first, although it reaches this line in js (I have checked with alerts that it really reaches the lines of opening any of the windows).
*************Calling the function twice******
winOpen(url1,txt1)
winOpen(url2,txt2)
*********************************************
The winOpen(url,txt) function, which is called twice,
is calling another function, depends on the parameters, and then opens the window by using:

wind=window.open(url,"win",'left=0px,top=0px, width='+ww+',height='+hh+',resizable,menubar,titlebar,toolbar,scrollbars,location');
**********************************************
Any quick suggestion?

Thanks very much

raf
07-01-2004, 03:54 PM
I'm not realy the one to ask since i stay away as much as possible from popups and javascript.

but there should be plenty of winwow.open script that are safari compatible. This looks pretty complete http://www.quirksmode.org/js/popup.html

avivit
07-04-2004, 07:31 AM
Thanks very much.
A great link that is.

avivit
07-13-2004, 02:22 PM
Ok,

I have used a great code that someome very helpful gave me, and it works great.
If the windows are opened from links, they work ok.
(as following),
but when only changing that, and calling the 2nd function from the first function, it does not work. The url is not replaced in safari,.
Why???
*******************First code that works**********

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">
<html>
<head>
<SCRIPT LANGUAGE=javascript src="Scripts/browserDetect.js">
</SCRIPT>
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
var wind = null;

function winOpen(url)
{
if (safari||IE)
{wind = window.open(url, 'myWin', '');
}
}
function updateWindow(url)
{
if (safari||IE)
{
if (!wind || (wind && wind.closed))
{
wind = window.open(url, 'myWin', '');
}
else
{
wind.document.location = url;
}
}
}
//-->
</script>
</head>
<body>
<a href="javascript:winOpen('showBrowserInfo.html');">Open initial window</a>
<br>
<a href="javascript:updateWindow('http://www.google.co.il');">Update URL in opened window</a>
</body>
</html>
*********************code-doesn't work***********
<html>
<head>
<SCRIPT LANGUAGE=javascript src="Scripts/browserDetect.js">
</SCRIPT>
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
var wind = null;

function winOpen(url)
{
if (safari||IE)
{wind = window.open(url, 'myWin', '');
}
}
function updateWindow(url)
{
if (safari||IE)
{
if (!wind || (wind && wind.closed))
{
wind = window.open(url, 'myWin', '');
}
else
{
wind.document.location = url;
}
}
}

function open2wins()
{winOpen("showBrowserInfo.html");
updateWindow("http://www.google.com");
}
//-->
</script>
</head>
<body>
<a href="javascript:open2wins();">Open initial window</a>
</body>
</html>
**********************************************



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum