...

View Full Version : Does anyone know how PHP.net does their site searches



digitalparrot77
06-03-2004, 10:25 PM
When you do a site search on www.PHP.net you type in what you are looking for and it takes that querey and points it to www.google.com and your search looks like this in googles search bar...

parse errors site:www.php.net

does anyone know how this is done? this is an easy way for users to search your site for information.

Thanks,

Curt

boeing747fp
06-03-2004, 10:44 PM
google has what's called Site-related searching and i believe if you type any domain after site: in google searches, it will find only results in that domain... and the keywords before site: means it will search only that domain for those keywords.

mordred
06-03-2004, 11:11 PM
They just redirect the site search to Google. A quick peek into the source code (http://de3.php.net/source.php?url=/search.php) of search.php on their site reveals that.

digitalparrot77
06-03-2004, 11:22 PM
thanks



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum