...

View Full Version : Looking for an alternative Download Installer of Apache, PHP & mySQL



Taylor_1978
05-12-2004, 02:41 PM
Hiya,

I was going to download firepages PHPDEV4 but it says that the site has run out of bandwidth for the month and to come back June 1st...

I was just wondering if anyone knew of some others I could download - I know they are out there; I have done it before - I just can't seem to find them now.. And having no luck through search engines.

Also - and I know this is a little off PHP - but I installed apache andthen was having trouble with the php installation - I for some stupid reason decided to install Personal Web Server; but now that I have I cannot seem to find any way of uninstalling it and it has screwed up my http://localhost for apache. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance! :thumbsup:
Taylor.

raf
05-12-2004, 03:29 PM
The lost art of searching ...
http://www.codingforums.com/showthread.php?t=25752&highlight=package

About the PWS:
I have an apache and IIS installed on 2 machines (IIS for asp's). I think you have 2 options
- either set a different port for .asp and .php files
- or stop PWS (go to processes and stop it there) and then strat apache

I always do the last. IIS (and probably PWS as well) will be default be started on startup, but since i hardly write asp anymore, i've just changed the start of that process to manual, so that no webserver is started on startup.

cpradio
05-12-2004, 04:39 PM
Just download PHP, Apache, and MySQL seperately. They are all very easy to configure to work with each other. I hardly think about it when I do it anymore...

Taylor_1978
05-12-2004, 05:03 PM
I've installed them all seperately many times over the years - however due to the PWS problem I am having and time restriction I just wanted to install a program - and I found one - Foxserv.

I have stopped the PWS each time the machine starts - still hasn't helped. And I cannot seem to get into any form of programing scripts (eg. httpd.conf) for PWS in order to change the Port and see no options for it anywhere!

Taylor.

cpradio
05-12-2004, 09:42 PM
In Apache you can change the port it listens to. Tell Apache to "Listen 300" and then you will use:

http://yourdomain.com:300/

-Matt



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum