View Full Version : How to create exe file that detects a specific software on pc

janice_2k
05-07-2004, 11:01 AM
Dear Gurus,
I am new in VB. I would like to create an exe file to be stored in a CD, that will detect the PC for a specific software. If the software doesn't exist, it will ask user to install the software and prompt the software installation from the CD first, then only it will run other programmes in the CD. Otherwise, it will run other programmes/activities in the CD. How can I do so by using VB? Hope my description is not confusing and hope to get some reply soon. Any sample codes and suggestions are higher appreciated. Have a pleasant day :thumbsup:

Thanks in advance,
Janice

sage45
05-07-2004, 05:27 PM
Well,

Detecting an application that is installed on a computer is easy... It all comes down to the method you want to use to detect the installation of the program... Here are a couple of the more common practices...

Method One - Detecting using file existence.

Dim objFSO As Object
Set objFSO = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
If Not objFSO.FileExists("c:\prgdir\myfile.dll") Then
If Not objFSO.FileExists("d:\setup.exe") Then
MsgBox "Missing d:\setup.exe" _
& vbCrLf & "This application will not behave normally." _
& vbCrLf & "It is recommened that the application be closed" _
& vbCrLf & "and the issue resolved.", vbExclamation, "Critical Error!"
Else
Shell "d:\setup.exe"
End If
End If

Method Two - Detecting using dll/ocx call.

Dim strExists As String, objFSO As Object

Private Declare Function LoadLibrary Lib _
"kernel32" Alias "LoadLibraryA" _
(ByVal lpLibFileName As String) As Long

Private Declare Function GetProcAddress Lib _
"kernel32" _
(ByVal hModule As Long, _
ByVal lpProcName As String) As Long

Private Declare Function FreeLibrary Lib _
"kernel32" _
(ByVal hLibModule As Long) As Long

Public Function LibPresent(ByVal DllName As String, ByVal FunctionName As String) As Boolean
Dim FunctionAddr As Long
Dim DLLHandle As Long