...

View Full Version : Please Help!! Battleship Code



skyblueff0
05-05-2004, 01:36 AM
Okay my teacher wants me and my class to do a simple battleship program, i mean i got everything except i cant change the value of my 2-D array cell...for example one of my cell contain "2,4" the cordinates for the shiP!
I want to change the the cell to a "H" or "M" if i missed it. Youll see

he said i need something to like intialize my array and something that display it, and he said the StartGame Function contain both. And once I seperate the two my Value can change

Plz Help!! If you really smart this shouldnt take anymore that 5 mins, but its taking me forever.... ill give you the rubric too if you want.

Rubric:
Your objective is to create a Battleship-type game. The grid should be a minimum of 20 by 20 (400 possible locations) and you should have at least 5 ships. Each ship is assigned to one location. You must display the grid on the screen by writing it out. The game should meet the following minimum requirements:


____/10: 1. The grid should be at least 20 by 20.

____/10: 2. Each grid location should indicate either:(1) not guessed, (2) miss, or (3) hit.

____/10: 3. The computer should randomly assign at least 5 ships to the grid.

____/10: 4. The computer should keep track of and display the number of guesses.

____/10: 5. The computer should indicate if your guess is a hit or a miss.

____/10: 6. An image should be displayed depending on whether your guess is a hit or a miss. You can be creative by adding a sinking ship or similar. Alternatively, you could add sound to indicate a hit or a miss.

____/10: 7. When the player has sunk all the ships, the number of hits and misses should be displayed.

____/10: 8. A reset button should enable the player to start a new game.

____/10: 9. The user should guess by entering the row and column number. You must show the row and column numbers on the grid.

____/10: 10. A "cheat" button should enable the user to display the locations of the ships.



You will receive extra credit for any features beyond those minimum requirements. for example, you could indicate how far from the target the guess is.



My Code -
<html>
<head>
<title> Khiem Nguyen BattleShip Project </title>
<script>
var r1 = new Array()
var r2 = new Array()
var r3 = new Array()
var r4 = new Array()
var r5 = new Array()
var r6 = new Array()
var r7 = new Array()
var r8 = new Array()
var r9 = new Array()
var r10 = new Array()
var r11 = new Array()
var r12 = new Array()
var r13 = new Array()
var r14 = new Array()
var r15 = new Array()
var r16 = new Array()
var r17 = new Array()
var r18 = new Array()
var r19 = new Array()
var r20 = new Array()
var r21 = new Array()
var myGrid = new Array(r1,r2,r3,r4,r5,r6,r7,r8,r9,r10,r11,r12,r13,r14,r15,r16,r17,r18,r19,r20,r21)
var i
var j
var theGrid = ""
//Grid Function
function StartGame(){
theGrid = theGrid + "<table border='1'>"
for(i=0;i<21;i++){
theGrid = theGrid + "<tr>"
for(j=0;j<21;j++){
myGrid[i][j] = j + "," + i
theGrid = theGrid + "<td>" + myGrid[i][j] + "</td>"
}
theGrid = theGrid + "</tr>"
}
theGrid = theGrid + "</table>"
YoGrid.innerHTML = theGrid
}
//EndGrid Function

//Randomize Function

function randomize(N1, N2) {
return Math.floor((N2 - N1 + 1)* Math.random() + N1)
}
var iRN = new Array()
var jRN = new Array()
var mKay = ""
for(x=0;x<5;x++){
iRN[x] = randomize(0,20);
jRN[x] = randomize(0,20);
mKay = mKay + iRN[x] + "," + jRN[x] + "\n"
}
//End Randomize Function

var Cheater
//Cheater Function
function Cheater(){
alert(mKay)
}
//End Cheater Function

//New Game Function

function NewGame(){
window.location="3.html"
}
//End New Game Function
//Function Intialize
var gGuess = 0
var gHitShip = 0
var gMissShip = 0
var k
var m
function HitMiss(){
gGuess++
fatcat.innerHTML = gGuess
if(txt1.value == ""|| txt2.value == ""){
alert("Please Fill in Both Boxes Monkey!!")
}
for(k=0;k<5;k++){
if(iRN[k] == txt1.value && jRN[k] == txt2.value){
gHitShip++
alert("Hit")
sassycat.innerHTML = gHitShip
return("Hit")
}
}
for(m=0;m<5;m++){
if(iRN[m] != txt1.value || jRN[m] != txt2.value){
gMissShip++
alert("Miss")
coolcat.innerHTML = gMissShip
return("Miss")
}
}
}

//End Function Intialize
</script>
</head>
<body onload="StartGame()">
<div id="YoGrid"></div>
<br>
<br>
<br>
<div>You Guessed This Many Times :<span id="fatcat"></span></div>
<div>You Guessed This Many Hit :<span id="sassycat"></span></div>
<div>You Guessed This Many Missed :<span id="coolcat"></span></div>
<input type="text" id="txt1">
<input type="text" id="txt2">
<input type="button" id="Cheater" value="Cheater" onclick="Cheater()">
<input type="button" id="NewGame" value="New Game" onclick="NewGame()">
<input type="button" id="HitMiss" value="Fire in the Hole!!!" onclick="HitMiss()">
</body>
</html>[/FONT]

Antoniohawk
05-05-2004, 01:46 AM
This will probably not solve any problem that you are having, but in javascript a semicolon at the end of a statement is a must. You've also got an extraneous [font] at the end. Do realize, that we do not do people's homework assignments here. We can give some pointers, but your best bet is to ask your instructor. I hope that one of the javascript gurus will be along to shortly to give you a push in the right direction. :)


var i
var j
var theGrid = ""

to


var i;
var j;
var theGrid = "";

Unit
05-05-2004, 01:52 AM
another minor fix.



for(i=0;i<21;i++){
theGrid = theGrid + "<tr>"
The looping condition is wrong, you actually go through the loop 21 times instead of the 20 you were expecting.
if you count
0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17,18,19,20
- That's 21!

squirellplaying
05-05-2004, 01:57 AM
GAH! Khiem I gave you my code! How can it not work. I got a 110/100.

skyblueff0
05-05-2004, 02:04 AM
Dave you go on this forum...lol oh well



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum